Uncertain Allies (Connor Grey #5) by Mark Del Franco

Released: April 26, 2011
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 296
Publisher: Ace
ISBN-13: 987-0-441-02040-9

After a night of riots and fires, the Boston neighborhood known as the Weird lies in ruins. When a body is found drained of its essence, ex- Guild investigator Connor Grey fears one of the most dangerous fey is still loose in the city. But things are not what they seem. As he is drawn deeper into the case, shades of the past threaten the present as an explosive secret tears apart the city–and brings the world to the brink of war.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Oh, Connor Grey, how I love your stories. Mark Del Franco abuses you, as do many of the other characters in his novels, but you keep getting up and making grand changes to the world around you, always with the best of intentions. Happily for me and all the other readers out there, this trend continues in Uncertain Allies.

In the aftermath of Unperfect Souls, it’s a whole new world in the Weird. Eorla has broken away and established a third court, filled with the folks who didn’t really fit into the other two. Folks are trying to figure out the new world order, including Connor, who also has to face charges from the human authorities and a disintegrating relationship with Murdock’s family. Plus his lady love is still unconscious and rather like a poseable doll in that folks can walk her around and stuff. Seeing Meryl like that was so weird since she’s so vivacious most of the time.

Truthfully, though, I read this book a couple weeks ago so my thoughts aren’t as effusive as normal. Uncertain Allies has all of the humour, action, and charm I’ve come to expect from Mark Del Franco’s work and I can’t wait to see what he comes up with next.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Uncertain Allies (Connor Grey #5) by Mark Del Franco”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I have to say this series really does sound great! 🙂 And the main character is so abused. 😉 I love that idea. Thanks for the great review.

  2. jenn says :

    This is one of the best series I’ve started reading lately. I can’t recommend it strongly enough. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a comment