Motor City Fae (Urban Arcana #1) by Cindy Spencer Pape

Released: June 7, 2010
Format: e-book
Pages: 222
Publisher: Carina
ISBN-13: 978-1-4268-9004-8

Detroit artist Meagan Kelly has had a strong sixth sense all her life, but that doesn’t mean the gorgeous stranger’s crazy story–that she’s a half-elf, half human heiress–is true. But Meagan can’t deny the evidence of her own eyes–he’s Fae. A tall, blond, handsome, pointy-eared elf–and a man she just can’t get enough of.

Ric Thornhill’s assignment just got a lot more complicated. The more time he spends with Meagan, the harder it is to see her as a political tool to prevent an all-out war between humans and Fae.

Now Meagan’s in a race to master her newly released powers in time to prevent the conflict, convince a jealous Queen not to strip Ric of his powers, and find out if she can build a life that straddles two worlds.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Full disclosure: I have been fortunate enough to receive a free copy of this e-book, thanks to Carina Press.

This story is about a Detroit artist named Meaghan Kelly. She’s always had precognitive dreams and intuitions but never knew why, at least until she met Ric Thornhill, who explains that she’s a half-human, half-elven heiress, who needs to go with him to the land of Faerie to help keep the peace between both worlds.

Motor City Fae is the first book that I’ve read from Carina Press that I would classify as purely paranormal romance. I enjoy a good paranormal romance; I mention this only because it seemed like more of an urban fantasy from the blurb and the cover. (This is my first time reading Cindy Spencer Pape; a glance at her website, however, reveals that she specializes in romance.)

Despite not being quite what I expected, I did enjoy Motor City Fae. I don’t think it’s a strong as some of the other books I’ve read from Carina Press but the characters are a lot of fun and the plot moves along at a great pace. I really liked the supporting characters in the novel; they were all well developed and interesting. There are a lot of sex scenes in this book – so many that I ended up glossing over them because I wanted to know what was going to happen next for Meaghan and Ric. Truthfully, I could have done with a couple less but that’s just my opinion; they certainly didn’t detract from my reading pleasure.

The next book in the Urban Arcana series features two of the characters introduced in Motor City Fae so I think I’ll have to pick it up when it comes out.

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment