Changes by Jim Butcher

Changes by Jim Butcher (The Dresden Files #12)Released: March 1, 2014
Format: Paperback
Publisher: Roc

Series: The Dresden Files #12

Source: Library

Excerpt: Yes

Long ago, Susan Rodriguez was Harry Dresden’s lover-until she was attacked and left struggling with the bloodlust of the vampiric Red Court. Now, she needs Harry’s help. Harry’s enemies have found the secret she has hidden for so long, and he will have to unleash the full fury of his untapped power.

Because this time, he’s fighting to save his child.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Holy. Crap.

I’m a few books behind on the Dresden Files and I knew that CHANGES had some big, well, changes in it but Jim Butcher just about killed me this time around. The Dresden Files is a truly solid series and I’ve loved every book in the series but CHANGES takes the cake.

Some of you may know what happens if you’ve been better about keeping up with the series but I don’t want to spoil anything. The main thrust of the novel is Harry’s quest to find his daughter, Maggie — a daughter he never knew he had with Susan. And this is just the first change we get, on page 1. I’d been hoping Susan would come back again and Butcher gives her an excellent part in this story. We get to see a bit of the old Susan but also a lot of the new, harder Susan who lives life on the run, killing vampires and then moving on, in an endless cycle. It’s no life for a child, and neither is Harry’s, which is why Susan gave up their daughter. It’s perfectly sensible but you can see it tear at both Harry and Susan throughout the novel. Family is a touchy subject for our hero and it’s a theme that resonates throughout CHANGES.

The other titular events? Well, they’re part of the surprise so I don’t want to say anything about them. I will say that we get some quality moments between Harry and Molly, and some of my most beloved characters make appearances. We also get some awesome Mouse moments, which is probably no surprise since he’s a most excellent dog-who’s-much-more-than-a-dog. Butcher also gives us some amazing Murphy scenes and they cement my love of this character. Murphy’s such a strong character — a smart, tough human in a supernatural world — and I love her practicality, her loyalty, and her relationship with Harry. And of course, Butcher wouldn’t be Butcher if the novel didn’t end with a last amazing chapter. Wow.

I really wish I had GHOST STORY on hand so that I could figure out how Butcher is going to resolve the final event in CHANGES but I guess I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see what Harry’s next crazy adventure will be.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

