Twisted Miracles by AJ Larrieu

Twisted Miracles by AJ LarrieuReleased: April 7, 2014
Format: eARC
Publisher: Carina

Series: The Shadowminds #1

Source: Netgalley

Excerpt: Yes

Cass Weatherfield’s powers come with a deadly price.

Cass knows it was her telekinetic gift that killed a college classmate five years back, even if no one else believes her. She’s lived in hiding from her fellow shadowminds ever since, plagued by guilt and suppressing her abilities with sedatives. Until the night her past walks back into her life in the form of sexy Shane Tanner, the ex-boyfriend who trained her…and the one she left without saying goodbye.

When Shane tells her that his twin sister, Mina–Cass’s childhood friend–is missing, Cass vows to help, which means returning to New Orleans to use her dangerous skills in the search. But finding Mina only leads to darker questions. As Cass and Shane race to learn who is targeting shadowminds, they find themselves drawn to each other, body and soul. Just as their powerful intimacy reignites, events take a terrifying turn, and Cass realizes that to save the people she loves, she must embrace the powers that ruined her life.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I’m sorry to say it but I’m rather ambivalent about TWISTED MIRACLES. There was no insta-love or need to read. I was really intrigued by the cover copy and it has some nice elements but I can’t recommend this book as a Must Read. I’d say it’s more of a try-an-excerpt-and-see-for-yourself kind of book.

The good: It was fun to read a series about “shadowminds”, basically different flavours of psychics. There are some neat powers and the history that is slowly revealed is very interesting. Larrieu has some nice world building going on, and it’s definitely one of the strength of the novel. You get a really authentic sense of Louisiana, probably because Larrieu is a native of the state.

The bad: Cass is a weak protagonist. I’ve got no quibble with characters who are damaged or anything like that (hello, I love Shiloh Walker, who writes some of the most broken people ever) but Cass is weak in the sense that I didn’t feel like she had much personality. It’s like she was so busy trying to dampen her gift that she forgot she was a person. A main character who doesn’t grab me is a kiss of death and it made it hard to get invested in Cass’ journey, especially since she’s surrounded by more interesting people.

I don’t have much more to say because of my ambivalence. TWISTED MIRACLES didn’t make a great impression on me but I hope it will find fans out there somewhere. If you liked it more than I did, I’d love to hear why.

**I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.
Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

