Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books If You Like The Walking Dead

toptentuesday

I’m enjoying this meme so far! How it works: The lovely folks at The Broke and the Bookish post a list of topics, bloggers do their own posts, and then link back. They even created this lovely button, which I’ve borrowed (with full credit).

This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books If You Like [insert show/movie/etc. here]

I’ve picked The Walking Dead because I just devoured the first three seasons of the show. (Thanks, SkyTV!) I haven’t started the fourth season yet but I’m completely hooked so I’m using it as my kick-off for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday.

  1. Feed by Mira GrantStarting off with the ‘duh’ option, I’m going to suggest the comic version of The Walking Dead. Available as individual issues or as trade editions, you can get even further into Robert Kirkman’s world. I’m not sure how far the show deviates from the comics in the long run because I’ve only got the first volume but it’s a great read.
  2. Feed by Mira Grant. It’s zombie apocalypse awesomeness, written by one of my favourite authors (who crafts urban fantasy stories as Seanan McGuire).
  3. Aftertime by Sophie Littlefield. Another great zombie book, and one that doesn’t mention zombies. Instead, Cass has to survive in a world full of Beaters while looking for her daughter. It’s an incredibly intense book and the start of a great trilogy. [review]
  4. Cormac McCarthy’s The Road. Father and son on the move in a scary world filled with cannibals and other threats. Rick and Carl, anyone?
  5. The First Days by Rhiannon Frater. Katie and Jenni are Thelma and Louise-ing their way to Jenni’s stepson. Not the most literary work on the list but it makes me think of Andrea and Michonne.
  6. My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana RowlandThe Zombie Survival Guide by Max Brooks. There are zombies in The Walking Dead. A survival guide seems key here.
  7. Another Max Brooks essential would be World War Z, which is a fairly ominous portrayal of what could happen in this day and age.
  8. My Life as a White Trash Zombie by Diana Rowland will give you the idea of how it might feel to be a zombie, if you got to keep your personality.  [review]
  9. Breathers: A Zombie’s Lament by S.G. Browne is a  funny zombie novel, if you’re looking for something a bit lighter after all of the heaviness in The Walking Dead but still want to say in the real of the living dead. [review]
  10. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. The Walking Dead always kills little blonde girls but here are a couple stories where the little girl survives.

I finally made it to 10! Woo hoo!

What would make your Top Ten list?

Leave a Reply

