Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

toptentuesday

I’m enjoying this meme so far! How it works: The lovely folks at The Broke and the Bookish post a list of topics, bloggers do their own posts, and then link back. They even created this lovely button, which I’ve borrowed (with full credit).

This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read

I’ve never really thought about this but I love this topic. We’ll see if I can make it to 10 this time around. 🙂

  1. The Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur LaffertyThe Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur Lafferty (and the rest of the series). It’s an urban fantasy series based around travel writing. How cool is that? My post about the first book will go up later this week.
  2. Allison Hewitt Is Dead by Madeleine Roux. It’s written as a series of blog posts. It’s the first book I read in this format and it made the book really stand out to me. [review]
  3. Phineas the miniature unicorn from Allison Pang’s Abby Sinclair trilogy so I’m throwing these books on the list. He’s a total pervert and he’s hilarious. And he has his own Twitter feed, though it hasn’t been updated in ages.
  4. DD Barant’s created a really interesting world for his Bloodhound Files. The protagonist has been transported to an alternate dimension where humans account for only 1% of the population. It’s a really cool series and I love the concept.
  5. It’s not urban fantasy but ttyl by Lauren Myracle is written entirely in textspeak from back in the day. It was a very interesting read but it made me grateful for my smartphone, which lets me avoid all of those acronyms.

Once again, I’m short this week. But at least I made it to 5 this time!

What would make your Top Ten list? Can you get a full count?

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Most Unique Books I’ve Read”

  1. xaurianx says :

    I would add anything Anne Bishop for sure. But I have so many series with unique world building, like Alyssa Day and her warriors of Poseidon. Lynn Viehl and her Kyn.

  2. jenn says :

    I’ve never read the Day or Viehl series but I agree, Anne Bishop is amazing. I can’t believe I forgot her!

Leave a Reply

