Waiting on Wednesday [24]

Waiting on Wednesday logo

“Waiting On” Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

 *************

It’s been a long time since I’ve done one of these, thanks to real life getting extremely busy. But I enjoy these posts a lot so I’m jumping back in with one of my Must Reads for December: THE SPIDER, the tenth book in Jennifer Estep’s Elemental Assassin series. We’re taking a break from the search for M. M. Monroe to flashback to Gin’s beginnings as an assassin; THE SPIDER takes place 10 years ago. I’m really excited about this — as I am for any Jennifer Estep novel — but I’m thrilled to see what Gin was like back in the day, and to spend some time with Fletcher Lane!

THE SPIDER comes out on December 24, so pre-order your copy now!

The Spider by Jennifer Estep (Elemental Assassin #10)

How did I end up in a career where I always have blood on my hands? Well, let me tell you a story about an assassin who thought she could do no wrong. . . .

Ten years ago. A blistering hot August night. I remember like it was yesterday. The night I, Gin Blanco, truly became the Spider. Killing people is what I do best, especially now that I’ve honed my Ice and Stone magic. But back then, I had yet to learn one very important rule: arrogance will get you, every single time.

This particular job seemed simple: murder a crooked building contractor with ties to ruthless Fire elemental Mab Monroe. My mentor, Fletcher Lane, had some misgivings, but I was certain that I had the situation under control . . . right up until I exposed my weaknesses to a merciless opponent who exploited every single one of them. There’s a reason assassins aren’t supposed to feel anything. Luckily, a knife to the heart can fix that problem, especially when I’m the one wielding it. . . .

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

