The Volatile Amazon by Sandy James

The Volatile Amazon by Sandy James (Alliance of the Amazon #4)Released: September 30, 2013
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina Press

Series: Alliance of the Amazons #4

Source: Netgalley

Excerpt: Yes

Book four of Alliance of the Amazons

Sarita Neeraj has never felt like a real Amazon. Compared to the obvious strengths of her sisters, her Water powers seem as small as her stature. She’s determined to prove herself–unfortunately, all that gets her is captured by an enemy.

Ian serves a twisted goddess, preferring this to an empty afterlife. He’s taken Sarita hostage to coax the other Amazons from their safe haven. But in his ancient Scottish castle, the passion and love Ian finds for Sarita resurrect his honor, until he chafes at the dark will of his mistress.

Sarita has finally found happiness–but before she can enjoy it, she’s “rescued” by her furious sisters. To save Ian from destruction at the hands of the Amazons, Sarita must risk wielding magick that could change her very nature. Only then can she prove the Water Amazon is the strongest of the four–and save them all from destruction.

Meet Earth, Fire and Air in The Reluctant Amazon, The Impetuous Amazon and The Brazen Amazon.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

Admin note: Been a while since I posted a review, eh? Sorry about that. Life is really putting the hurt on my reading time but my goal is to get at least one review a week up here, in addition to my Monday posts on Team Tynga’s Reviews. Without further ado, here’s this week’s review!

Once more into the breach with Sandy James, as I have reached the last book in her Alliance of the sermons series. I’ve read the books in relatively rapid succession, which has been a lot for fun. No need for a refresher when you last visited this world a few weeks ago!

That being said, THE VOLATILE AMAZON is probably my least favourite book in the series. It’s still a good book and it delivers a strong conclusion to the overarching series story with Helen but I wasn’t terrible interested in Sarita and Ian’s romance. I liked Sarita throughout the series and I actually like her even more after reading THE VOLATILE AMAZON but I wasn’t intrigued by Ian. In fact, I think I would have been perfectly happy with this as an urban fantasy because Sarita has such an incredible personal journey in this book. She’s forced to grow in ways the other Amazons were not, and it really made this aspect of the book work. The other Amazons had obstacles to overcome but Sarita had to confront personal demons, actual demons, and all sorts of magical and ethical dilemmas. I felt like the stakes were higher and more authentic than in any of the previous books, which made it a real roller coaster of a read.

But Ian didn’t do it for me. I’m probably in the minority on this one but I just wasn’t feeling the romance. James has given Ian an interesting backstory and ties to the Amazons but I didn’t care about him as much as I was supposed to. I’m curious to see what other people think, but I haven’t read any reviews yet because I like to get my thoughts down before I read other folks’ takes.

On the whole, I did really enjoy reading the Alliance of the Amazons series. James is a good writer who has created a very interesting world and I hope she will continue to create stories in this setting. (It certainly seems possible based on the ending of THE VOLATILE AMAZON, if she wants to do a spinoff.) Even if she doesn’t, I’ll definitely be picking up whatever she puts out next because I think she’s a talent to watch.

netgalley knockout
Check mark for the Netgalley Knockout!

**I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**
Tags: ,

3 responses to “The Volatile Amazon by Sandy James”

  1. xaurianx says :

    Somehow, this series absolutely does not appeal to me. Not sure why, it just doesn’t.

  2. jenn says :

    Sorry to hear that, Aurian. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

