Strange Fates by Marlene Perez

Strange Fates by Marlene Perez (Nyx Fortuna #1)Released: March 5, 2013
Format: eARC
Publisher: Orbit

Series: Nyx Fortuna #1

Source: Netgalley

Excerpt: Yes

The first in a line of three exciting new urban fantasy novels blending elements of Greek myth and forbidden romance against the backdrop of Minnesota’s magical underworld. 

Brooding, leather jacket-wearing Nyx Fortuna looks like a 20-something, and has for centuries now. As the son of the forgotten fourth Fate, Lady Fortuna, he has been hunted his entire life by the three Sisters of Fate that murdered his mother.

Fed up and out for revenge, Nyx comes to Minneapolis following a tip that his aunts have set up a business there. His goal ­ to bring down his mother’s killers and retrieve the thread of fate that has trapped him in the body of a twenty year old unable to age or die.

But when a chance meeting with the mysterious, dangerous and very mortal Elizabeth Abernathy throws off his plans, he must reconcile his humanity and his immortality.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

What to say about STRANGE FATES… I liked this book. I thought it had some interesting ideas and a strong premise but it still lacked a little something for me. It’s hard to pinpoint exactly why I didn’t love this book but I’ll start by telling you what I do like and go from there.

The series mythology is very strong. I love the idea that the three fates from Greek and Roman mythology have a fourth sister who runs away with her newborn son and his thread of life to save him. I love the idea that she dies and he’s left alone to hide and try to reclaim the magical items she sold while they were on the run. I love the idea that his thread is in one of the charms she sold off of her necklace. I love the idea that he wants to die because he’s tired of being alone and immortal. Despite this, I didn’t care that much about Nyx. I feel bad for the guy but I wasn’t rooting for him the way you do with a truly sympathetic character. Nyx has a great backstory but I feel like Perez could have done a lot more with it. She’s constructed a great backbone for her world and her leading man but I don’t think she really capitalized on the potential in her series. 

The rest of the world building is also quite interesting. There are four magical houses, aligned with different Greek gods, and each house has a reputation. I thought this was a cool idea but we don’t learn too much about these houses since STRANGE FATES is a first person POV and Nyx doesn’t interact with all of the houses equally.

I also have a problem with the romance in STRANGE FATES. Nyx constantly says that he thinks there’s something going on with Gwen but he never really investigates it. He wants to be with someone but also doesn’t really since he just wants to die and I found this part of the novel to be rather frustrating.

I did, however, really like Talbot. He’s a cool dude. And I think Ambrose is going to be a character to watch so I will probably try the next book in the series but I won’t be in any hurry. I’m not terribly invested in Nyx Fortuna’s fate but I hope the are readers out there who had a more positive response to this novel.

netgalley knockout
Check mark for the Netgalley Knockout!

**I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**
Tags: ,

3 responses to “Strange Fates by Marlene Perez”

  1. xaurianx says :

    Mmm nice review, it does sound interesting. I have read a book by this author before and enjoyed it.

  2. jenn says :

    I hope you like it if you try it. I’m not completely sold but I’m still very curious about the trilogy.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

