The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones

Boyfriend was in the mood for a movie last week and I got to pick so we went to see The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones. I really liked the first three books in the series and I was pretty impressed with the trailer so I was interested in — but not over-the-top excited about — seeing the movie.

Here’s the trailer in case you missed it:

On the whole, I quite liked this movie. It’s not without flaws but it’s definitely a fun summer movie.  Lily Collins made a great Clary. She does a great job of translating Clary’s personality from the page to the screen. They could have been a bit more subtle with the way her wardrobe changes coincided with her growing awareness of the supernatural world since the increasing amount of (p)leather was pretty in-your-face but Collins generally did a great job. I also really liked the rest of the cast. Jonathan Rhys Meyers is a fantastic Valentine, Lena Headey was a kick-ass mom and I wish there had been more of her, Robert Sheehan is the perfect Simon, Jemima Hart kicks butt as Isabelle, Jared Harris personified Hodge in all his flawed glory, and Godfrey Gao, well, he’s just about the sexiest Magnus Bane I could have wished for (and he had great chemistry with the actor playing Alec). I wasn’t completely won over by the actor who played Jace but he had decent chemistry with Collins so it wasn’t a total wash. His wardrobe was a little Bieber-esque and I found it a bit distracting.

The effects in The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones are great. The CGI was really well done and the demons really reminded me of the zombies in the Resident Evil movies. A lot of the props were very cool, like the weapons and the pen things they use to write runes (I can’t for the life of me remember what they’re called in the book).

Overall, The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones was a fun flick. I haven’t read the books in a while so I can’t remember how faithful they were to the fine details of the book but it had all of the elements of the novel that I liked. Let me know what you think!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

