The Impetuous Amazon by Sandy James

The Impetuous Amazon by Sandy James (Alliance of the Amazons #2)Released: January 14, 2013
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina Press

Series: Alliance of the Amazons #2

Source: eARC via Netgalley

Book two of Alliance of the Amazons

Megan Feurer is strong and impetuous, like the Fire element she represents. She is an Amazon, sworn to protect humanity from demons, demigods and all manner of supernatural beings who wish ill upon the world. But her fire burns hot and fast, and her unpredictable control of the element brings into question her fitness as an Amazon.

Johann Herrmann chose the life of a Sentinel–a trainer of the four Amazons–to save his sister’s life. Now bound to the patron goddess Rhiannon, he knows his duty demands a solitary existence. But when he’s assigned to evaluate the Fire Amazon, his sacrifice becomes much more difficult.

Megan’s passions ignite a flame that neither she nor Johann can control, and the goddess Freya has reason to fan those flames. A mysterious force is gaining power, and Megan and Johann must join together to fight. And once a passionate fire has started, it’s nearly impossible to stop…

Find out how it all began in The Reluctant Amazon.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is just a quickie post since I’m at work but I wanted to get some actual content back up on the blog so here goes. You get what I can commit to the electronic page during my break. 🙂

It’s been a while since I’ve immersed myself in Sandy James’ début but I’m so glad to be back in the world of the Amazons with THE IMPETUOUS AMAZON, the second book in James’ series! I adored Megan in the first novel, THE RELUCTANT AMAZON, and I’m so glad that I didn’t have to wait for her story any longer. I’m a sucker for heroines who are too plucky for their own good and Megan really fits the bill since she’s a total firecracker, in both a figuratively and more literal sense. And once she and Johann hook up, well, the sparks, they do fly! (There are so many fire puns to be made here and I’m trying to restrain myself but it’s obviously not going well.) Watching Megan and Johann fall for each other was a lot of fun, especially since they both start off half in love with the other, though they’re completely oblivious to the other’s feelings. There are the usual rounds of miscommunication and mistrust but they’re very well written and I quite enjoyed watching them discover the depth and significance of their connection.

We also get some great character development, particularly for Megan. We learn so much about her past and how it’s shaped her. You’ll have a very clear sense of who she is and why she is so headstrong, determined, and, well, impetuous, by the end of the novel. You’ll also learn some very surprising things about her family and this was probably the most interesting part of the book for me. I don’t want to say too much even though the book has been out for a while but I will tell you that the implications of the big reveals are pretty awesome. They’ll reveal a lot about Megan but also about her family, which I truly enjoyed.

I also feel that THE IMPETUOUS AMAZON has a strong non-romantic plot. This time around, Megan and Johann are investigating a series of disappearances and murders that all seem to be linked to a pop star. I really enjoyed the more procedural elements to this story since it gave Megan the opportunity to shine, thanks to her past as a cop, and also because I love a good murder mystery. Truthfully, there’s not a lot of mystery here since they’re sure the celebrity in question is the culprit but watching them get proof and find out who’s supporting him is quite the adventure. In fact, I’d say the plotting of THE IMPETUOUS AMAZON is much stronger than it was in THE RELUCTANT AMAZON.

Thanks to my dillydallying, the rest of the series is now available, at least to reviewers, so I’m going to get THE BRAZEN AMAZON and THE VOLATILE AMAZON cued up in my e-reader so that I can continue my adventures with this fine group of ladies, their partners, and their quirky goddesses!

netgalley knockout
Check mark for the Netgalley Knockout!

**I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.**
Tags: ,

5 responses to “The Impetuous Amazon by Sandy James”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Hmmm, I do think I might need this series. lol. Thank you!

  2. jenn says :

    Looking forward to your thoughts on the series. 🙂

Leave a Reply

