Mercy Blade by Faith Hunter

Mercy Blade by Faith Hunter (Jane Yellowrock #3)Released: January 4, 2011
Format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Roc

Series: Jane Yellowrock #3

Source: Personal shelf (e-book)

Jane Yellowrock is a shape-shifting skinwalker and vampire hunter for hire. But lately instead of just slaying vampires, she’s been working for them.

Jane crosses paths with a stranger who has arrived in New Orleans, enlisted to hunt vampires who have gone insane-or so he says…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I really dig Jane Yellowrock and the world she lives in, as you may have guessed from the fact that I dared you to read Skinwalker a little while ago over on Team Tynga’s Reviews. It’s been a while since I’ve read the series so I’m behind, but that’s something I’m trying to rectify starting now.

Mercy Blade is Jane’s third novel-length outing and the last book I’d read previously. The book blurb is pretty vague but I promise you, Mercy Blade is a fast-paced action thriller and an emotional roller coaster all at once.

Jane is now on retainer with Leo, the master of the clans of New Orleans, working security and doing her badass Rogue Hunter thing. That isn’t such a big deal, but weres are coming out of the proverbial closet, making her job that much more difficult. And it’s not just werewolves, who happen to have  a big hate for Leo and want to see him tried in human court. There are also were-cats from Africa, who have come to treaty with the vampires. Politics are really at the forefront of parts of this novel, and it was interesting to see Jane trying to function in this type of an environment since it’s definitely not one in which she thrives. And, of course, everyone wants to know what she is, including the newcomers. No one can figure it out (though they know what she’s not) but everyone wants to know, so I suppose it’s only a matter of time before someone other than Molly and Evan learn what Jane is. Can’t wait to see what happens what that bombshell gets dropped.

There are also some other neat developments in terms of expanding the universe, thanks to the introduction of the titular Mercy Blade. I won’t spoil it even though the book is a couple years old but I will say that I thought Gee was a neat character, both in terms of what he is and his role in vampire society. I hope he’ll show up in other stories because I found him super interesting.

At the same time, there’s a lot of emotional stuff for Jane in Mercy Blade. I love it when authors put their characters through some emotional turmoil and Jane is reeling at certain points in this novel. After all, she’s in a relatively new relationship with Rick but he’s gone back undercover and isn’t returning her calls, so she’s left feeling vulnerable and kind of stupid. And Bruiser is there, trying to get into her good graces and bed, with his century-old charm. And they definitely have some moments together, which I found kind of gratifying because I can see his appeal. (I can also see why he’s a good guy to stay away from, though, something Jane is quite aware of.)  Plus, she believes in monogamy for religious reasons (even though Beast is pushing for her to go Bruiser) so she’s got lust pulling her one way, her heart pulling her another, and her soul, well, it’s just all confused. Awesome for readers, terrible for Jane.

And even though I’ve always been a bit more Team Bruiser, despite his loyalties, I’m really intrigued by Rick now, in ways I wasn’t before. There are some significant developments for Rick in Mercy Blade, despite his absence from Jane’s life, and I’m  curious to see how things play out in future novels, which is why I’m going to start Raven Cursed soon.

If you’re looking for an excellent urban fantasy series, look no further than Faith Hunter’s Jane Yellowrock books. They have action, magic, romance, and humour, and you won’t be sorry!

Tags: ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

