The Cold Kiss of Death by Suzanne McLeod

The Cold Kiss of Death by Suzanne McLeodReleased: April 26, 2011
Format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Ace

Series: Spellcrackers.com #2

Source: Personal shelf

Being haunted by a ghost is the least of Genny’s problems: she’s also trying to deal with the witch neighbour who wants her evicted. Finn, her sort-of-Ex – and now her new boss – can’t quite decide whether he wants their relationship to be business or pleasure. And then there’s the queue of vamps inviting her to paint the town red; how long before they stop taking no for an answer?

Just when it seems things can’t get any worse a human friend is murdered using sidhe magic. Determined to hunt down the killer and needing help, she turns to one of London’s most capricious wylde fae and the seductive vampire Malik al-Khan.

But all too soon she realises she doesn’t know who she can trust – and now Genny’s the one being hunted, not just by the police, but by some of London’s most powerful and dangerous supernaturals.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Quick post today since I’m in a rush. It’s not meant as a disservice to the book or the author, just a reflection of how pressed for time I am this week.

It’s been almost two years since I read The Sweet Scent of Blood, the first Spellcrackers book, and it’s great to get back to Genny Taylor and her complicated life. Her very complicated life. It took me a little while to remember all of the relationships in the book since it’s been so long but it was very pleasant getting reacquainted. Suzanne McLeod has created a very interesting world in this series and I’d forgotten how layered and detailed it was.

In The Cold Kiss of Death, Genny is dealing with a couple problems: (1) her angry witch of a neighbour wants to get her evicted, which wouldn’t be so bad if it didn’t also mean she’d be a free snack for any interested vampire, and (2) she’s framed for the murder of a human.  There are other obstacles that pop up over the course of the book but these are the two big ones, to my mind. Oh, and the fact that the fae want her to breed ASAP and some of the fae aren’t too worried about getting her consent. Her friends and acquaintances are rather polite about it but there are some unsavoury types her come sniffing around, too, which makes it a pretty bad time to be Genny. All of these threads are intertwined throughout the novel and I couldn’t predict where the story would go, which I always love. I found The Cold Kiss of Death to be a very satisfying novel since it had such a strong story line and really interesting characters. I was pleased to see Finn had a nice role in the novel, as well as Malik, since I found them to be rather compelling in The Sweet Scent of Blood.

As with the first book in the Spellcrackers series, the world building is really great and I love the way McLeod explores the mythology of her series. It’s so different from other urban fantasy with fae and vampires, thanks to the V3 virus and its implications. I can’t wait to see what happens in The Bitter Seed of Magic. I won a copy from the author so I’m excited to the next phase in Genny’s story!

Tags: ,

5 responses to “The Cold Kiss of Death by Suzanne McLeod”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I want to go on with the series. I need to get back to these. I have 2 & 3 sitting here for me. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. jenn says :

    I rediscovered the series recently. It’s a nice series, though not on my favourites list…yet. 😉

  3. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    You know Jenn, I’m glad to hear you say that. I liked the first book, but I wasn’t as swept away as many others were. 🙂 Thank you.

  4. jenn says :

    🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

