Question: How Do You Read An Anthology?

Question by Yummy Men & Kick Ass Chicks

Question is a fun feature run by Julie at Yummy Men & Kick Ass Chicks. I’ve really enjoyed reading her questions and answers so I thought I would participate. 🙂 As always, thanks to Julie for doing this. I don’t know how she comes up with these great questions every week but I’m all for it.

This week’s question: How do you read an anthology?

My answer: This one is a toughie. Like Julie, I like anthologies because they’re opportunities to discover new authors. But I find anthologies maddening sometimes. If it’s a three- or four-story anthology, the stories have a lot of meat to them but in a Mammoth Book… type anthology, I find the stories are sometimes too brief.

In terms of how I read an anthology, it depends on how many stories there are. In a three- or four-story volume, I usually just read them in order, unless there’s a story by an author I love, in which case I am guilty of jumping to that story first.  In a larger anthology, I pick and choose depending on my mood, and don’t usually get through all of the stories. I have a couple of those Mammoth Books… gathering dust…

4 responses to “Question: How Do You Read An Anthology?”

  1. Julie says :

    I actually have a Mammoth book gathering dust too! lol You are completely correct about the ‘meat’ in the stories. Some authors are just really talented when it comes to writing short stories. I’m thinking Sierra Dean and Ilona Andrews. I am never disappointed in a short tale by them. I never feel as though there are pieces missing in their stories. But some authros not as good. Many leave you feeling meh. I no longer go out searching for anthologies to read but if there is a story by a favorite author, I may. Or I’ll wait a few months until they release just that story, which is happening more on more thanks to eBooks. 🙂

  2. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I have a Mammoth antho. But haven’t got to reading it yet. I do need to do that. But I usually read all the stories in an antho. 🙂

    Sometimes I get upset that the stories are set in series I’ve not read yet, so I’m kinda lost. But I do still enjoy them.

  3. jenn says :

    @Julie: You’re totally right about some authors being better at short fiction, and the two you name are definitely awesome! And you’re dead on about e-books, which I hadn’t even thought of. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by.

    @Melissa: I’m impressed you read them all. I find it too frustrating sometimes, since they tend to assume the reader knows a bit about the world.

  4. jenn says :

    I know the feeling. But I find it so frustrating so I usually pick and choose now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

