Question: Should Reviewers Post Spoiler Warnings For Past Books’ Events?

Question by Yummy Men & Kick Ass Chicks

Question is a fun feature run by Julie at Yummy Men & Kick Ass Chicks. I’ve really enjoyed reading her questions and answers so I thought I would participate. 🙂

This week’s question: Should reviewers post spoiler warnings for past books’ events?

My answer: This is a tough one for me. I’ve had authors ask me to put a disclaimer on a review saying that it contains information about preceding novels, because they’ve had bad reactions before. And I’m happy to do it because I understand not wanting to be spoiled. But at the same time, I think contextualizing the book you’re discussing is really important and part of that may involve mentioning events in earlier novels. I don’t always put up a disclaimer, though, especially if the book has been out for over a year, because I do think it kind of goes without saying. But if the books have been released in rapid succession, say one a month for three months like they did with the first three novels in Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles, I’m more inclined to add a little warning. Overall, however, I agree with Julie. It’s not a reviewer’s obligation to add something like that; “spoilers” for previous novels should be expected. But I can understand not wanting a story spoiled. My suggestion for folks who aren’t caught up on a series is simple: don’t read reviews for books if you’re behind, unless you don’t mind a hint of what’s to come. 🙂

3 responses to “Question: Should Reviewers Post Spoiler Warnings For Past Books’ Events?”

  1. Julie says :

    I never considered when books come out in rapid succession. It makes sense to maybe add a warning then. Smart thinking!

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks, Julie! It was a great question. Really got me thinking. 🙂

  3. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    If I see that the books is anything other than #1, and pretty much everyone notes the series number, I know it’s a very good possibility. I usually read the review, but skim too. I know what series I’ll be getting to sooner than others as well. So I don’t worry as a reader.

Leave a Reply

