Kiss of Midnight by Lara Adrian

Kiss of Midnight by Lara AdrianReleased: May 1, 2007
format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Dell

Series: Midnight Breed #1

Source: Library

INSATIABLE DESIRE. ENDLESS SEDUCTION. ONE TOUCH IS JUST THE BEGINNING.

He watches her from across the crowded dance club, a sensual black-haired stranger who stirs Gabrielle’s deepest fantasies. But nothing about this night–or this man–is what it seems. For when Gabrielle witnesses a murder outside the club, reality shifts into something dark and deadly. In that shattering instant she is thrust into a realm she never knew existed–a realm where vampires stalk the shadows and a blood war is set to ignite.

Lucan Thorne despises the violence carried out by his lawless brethren. A vampire himself, Lucan is a Breed warrior, sworn to protect his kind–and the unwitting humans existing alongside them–from the mounting threat of the Rogues. Lucan cannot risk binding himself to a mortal woman, but when Gabrielle is targeted by his enemies, he has no choice but to bring her into the dark underworld he commands.

Here, in the arms of the Breed’s formidable leader, Gabrielle will confront an extraordinary destiny of danger, seduction, and the darkest pleasures of all . . . .

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Lara Adrian’s Midnight Breed series reminds me a lot of J. R. Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood  or Dianne Duvall’s Immortal Guardians books. Kiss of Midnight came out a little couple years after the first BDB book, Dark Lover, and long before Duvall’s Darkness Dawns, but I feel like there are a lot of similarities. Am I the only one? Not saying their carbon copies but reading Kiss of Midnight definitely reminded me of these two series.

The Breed are an all-male race descended from aliens. Their warriors spend their time fighting Rogues, other vampire types who have succumbed to Bloodlust and turned into savage feeders and murderers, all while hiding their fight from humans. Breed warriors are all big, tough alpha males, just like the BDB, but their names don’t have crazy spelling, which I appreciate because that’s always irritated me. The Breed mate with special human women, or Breedmates, who have a little mark on their bodies and whose genetic makeup make them able to carry Breed babies. When a human mates with a Breed, her lifespan is extended, with aging basically suspended, for as long as the bond exists. For them, happily ever after really is more of a happily forever after. 😉

I generally liked the mythology in the series, though there were moments of info dumping, particularly once Gabrielle becomes more immersed in the Breed world. I liked that there were already women in the Breed compound, so that Gabrielle wasn’t the only woman running around their mysterious home base. I also really liked Gabrielle. She’s a cool character with interesting abilities. Lucan, on the other hand, left me feeling pretty meh. I didn’t care for him. He was all stereotype, no substance for me, which meant I wasn’t very moved by his romance with Gabrielle. But I was interested enough in the world that I finished Kiss of Midnight.

The main series arc is that there’s someone uniting the Rogues into a more cohesive force. Typically, they are more solitary but now they’re starting to mobilize in packs and follow a mysterious Master. You find out who this Master is by the end of Kiss of Midnight and the ramifications of this discovery should make for some good reading. I’m not super keen in this series based on my first foray into the Midnight Breed world but I’m going to give Kiss of Crimson a shot once it shows up at the library.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Kiss of Midnight by Lara Adrian”

  1. Atypical Midwestern Librarian says :

    You know, I couldn’t finish this one. It did remind me of the BDB as well, but I didn’t find the characters as likeable. The name spellings in the BDB ARE obnoxious and Phury is Furry as far as I’m concerned. But overall, I gave a crap about them and just could not bring myself to that in this one. Maybe I didn’t give it enough of a shot, but the alien thing was too much of a stretch for me as well.

  2. jenn says :

    Love your take on Phury!

    I agree, it’s much easier to invest emotionally in the characters in the BDB but I’m willing to give this series one more try before I give up.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

