Fair Game by Patricia Briggs

Fair Game by Patricia BriggsReleased: January 29, 2013 (paperback edition)
Format: mass market paperback
Publisher: Ace

Series: Alpha and Omega #3

Source: Personal shelf

Patricia Briggs, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson novels, “always enchants her readers” (Lynn Viehl). Now her Alpha and Omega series—set in a world of shifting shapes, loyalties, and passions—brings werewolves out of the darkness and into a society where fear and prejudice could turn the hunters into the prey…

It is said that opposites attract. And in the case of werewolves Anna Latham and Charles Cornick, they mate. The son—and enforcer—of the leader of the North American werewolves, Charles is a dominant Alpha. While Anna, an Omega, has the rare ability to calm others of her kind.

When the FBI requests the pack’s help on a local serial-killer case, Charles and Anna are sent to Boston to join the investigation. It soon becomes clear that someone is targeting the preternatural. And now Anna and Charles have put themselves right in the killer’s sights…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I must confess: I don’t like the Alpha and Omega books nearly as much as Patricia Briggs’ other  series, the Mercy Thompson books. I know that the Alpha and Omega books are a spinoff and I love that we get some extra time in this world but I’m such a huge Mercy fan that I sometimes resent this series because it delays the release of the next Mercy story. It’s such a first world problem that I probably shouldn’t mention it but it is one of the reasons I’m not super enthusiastic about the Alpha and Omega series, even though it’s still some of the best written urban fantasy out there.

In fact, Fair Game is probably my favourite Alpha and Omega story so far. I enjoyed the previous instalments in the series but this one has jumped to the head of the pack (bad pun, I know) because we get to really explore Charles and see what the consequences of being his father’s enforcer for two hundred years are. It’s nice to see such a usually even-keeled character have a serious problem, and it also gives us a chance to get into his magic and heritage a bit more. We also see Anna and Charles starting off in a bad place since Charles has been withdrawn and Anna is still not 100% confident in herself. I love it when authors make their characters suffer and both Charles and Anna have to confront their issues before the end of Fair Game.

Fair Game has more of a procedural bent than some of the other novels in this series or the Mercy one, because Charles and Anna are aiding a task force in their search for a serial killer who has been targeting werewolves in his/her most recent sprees. I’m a big fan of procedurals so I really enjoyed it. For those of you who might not enjoy that type of story, though, it’s not a complete Criminal Minds episode. There are also some nice moments between Charles and Anna and we get to know a whole new group of people.

I also liked that the Alpha and Omega books now take place in the same time period as the Mercy books. Previously, these were set a little further into the past but there are references to the events in River Marked in Fair Game, so we’re all caught up. It makes it easier for me to follow things and I’m sure it makes life a bit simpler for Patricia Briggs! 

Plus, the story is set in Boston, a city I visited for the first time in January. It’s always a lot of fun to read a book set in a familiar space and, while I’m not an expert on Boston, it was nice to recognize different place names and settings.

I’m not sure when the next Alpha and Omega book will be out but you can be sure I’ll be ordering it once the paperback version is available. (I buy the Mercy books in hardcover but I try to limit the number of authors/series I do this for to avoid eating ramen for weeks.) In the meanwhile, it’s time to re-read some Mercy books since the next one, Frost Burned, is out soon!

Tags: ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

