Blood of the Pride by Sheryl Nantus

SherylNantus-BloodOfThePrideReleased: February 13, 2012
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina Press

Series: Blood of the Pride #1

Source: Review copy from publisher

When a severed rabbit’s paw is delivered to her office, outcast cat shifter Rebecca Desjardin recognizes the summons home. One of their own has been murdered—and a shocking photo published in a local tabloid—and her Pride needs Rebecca, now a private investigator, to track down the killer.

Investigative reporter Brandon Hanover wants to find out who slipped the photo of the half-shifted cat-woman under his door, marking him as a suspect in her death. Determined to stay one step ahead of the sexy journalist, Rebecca reluctantly agrees to partner with him to find the real murderer. But as their mutual attraction heats up, Rebecca finds it harder and harder to keep Brandon from discovering the existence of the shifter society—and her own true nature.

When the search leads them back to the Pride, Rebecca must attempt to Change for the first time in years to face the killer, and save the man she loves…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I’m always on the lookout for new Canadian authors and Sheryl Nantus fits the bill. I’ve had this review copy for a while and actually read the book a few times but I’ve been on the road and not in a great position to write up a review. With the second book in the series now available, I thought it was past time to talk about it because it’s a great story. There’s a lot to like in Blood of the Pride. First, it’s set in the Toronto area, which was really fun for me since that’s where I’m from. It was cool to see local places referenced — it’s something I really get a kick out of. Beyond that, though, there’s lots for readers to enjoy. To begin with, there’s the worldbuilding. I’m a sucker for the supernatural outcast storyline and Sheryl Nantus does a great job of making Rebecca an outcast with a bit of a chip on her shoulder, simultaneously willing and unwilling to go back to the fold when she’s summoned. Her return to the Pride digs up old feelings and resentments and also shows Reb just how far she’s come from when she was exiled.

Rebecca was an engaging protagonist. She’s smart and resilient and dedicated. I found it really easy to relate to her, which is always a good quality for a main character. Her emotions left off the page and I really felt for her at certain points in the story. Brandon provided a strong male lead, with his smarts and resources. He brought a lot to the table for the romance and for the investigation. The relationship between Reb and Brandon was well written and fun since you could feel the connection between them.

I thoroughly enjoyed the investigative portion of Blood of the Pride. This part of the plot was quite smart and I enjoyed the twists in Rebecca’s search to find the murderer. I’m quite excited to see what will happen in Claws Bared!

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Blood of the Pride by Sheryl Nantus”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh I want to get trying Carina Press books. They sound so good. I’ve had my eye on them for a time now. I’ve just got to get through some of my books first. 🙂 Thank you.

  2. jenn says :

    They have some great stuff! I can’t say enough good things about Carina. They were the first publisher to give me review copies, back when my readership was really tiny, and they have such a diverse line. I hope you’ll be able to give them a try soon. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

