The Mage in Black by Jaye Wells

JayeWells-TheMageInBlackReleased: April 1, 2010
Format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Orbit

Series: Sabina Kane #2

Source: Personal shelf

The sequel to Red-Headed Stepchild from USA Today Bestselling author Jaye Wells…

Sabina Kane doesn’t have the best track record when it comes to family. After all, her own grandmother, the leader of the vampire race, just tried to kill her. When she arrives in New York to meet the mage side of her family, the reunion takes the fun out of dysfunctional.

On top of that, the Hekate Council wants to use her as a pawn in the brewing war against the vampires. Her mission will take her into the bowels of New York’s Black Light district, entangles her in mage politics, and challenges her beliefs about the race she was raised to distrust. And Sabina thought vampires were bloodthirsty.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Wow does it feel good to be writing a proper post here again! This post is going to be a bit brief since I’m in something of a time crunch but I wanted to get something posted on the blog so here we go.

*shakes off the rust*

I really enjoyed my first Jaye Wells experience — when I picked up Red-Headed Stepchild last year. In fact I enjoyed it so much so that I decided to use it as my October Daring You To Read… post on Tynga’s Reviews. It’s been a while since I read that book so I figured it was a good time to get back into Sabina Kane’s world.

In The Mage in Black, Sabina’s adrift. She cut her ties with her grandmother and the rest of vampire society and has decided to throw in with the mages, if only because she doesn’t have any other options. She meets the sister she never knew she had and is initiated into mage society, a bumpy journey that I thoroughly enjoyed. The Mage in Black has all of the smarts and wit of Red-Headed Stepchild and it really opens up Sabina’s world. I thought it was a great sequel to the first book, giving Sabina different challenges and new obstacles. It was really fun to see her explore her mage side since we got a lot of information about her life as a vampire in Red-Headed Stepchild but learned very little about mage society. It’s a great way to reveal a different side of the series’ mythology and it’s made me really excited to keep reading Sabina’s adventures.

Tags: ,

7 responses to “The Mage in Black by Jaye Wells”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh I loved this series! LOVED IT! And it ends amazingly! Wow. When you get there you’ll understand why. 🙂 Glad you are enjoying these. 🙂

  2. jenn says :

    Your blog is part of the reason I decided to jump into these books. I’m really impressed so far. 🙂

  3. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh wonderful Jenn! 🙂 So glad to hear that. 🙂 And so glad you are enjoying them. Sabina seems to be a character that is divided, some love her some…well not so much. I think she’s a wonderful character, but I like hard characters.

  4. jenn says :

    She’s definitely not the most flexible woman but I like my characters a little rough. Plus the world building is amazing!! Jaye Wells has a brilliant brain. 🙂

  5. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I totally agree! And I thought the world just got better and better with each book. And yes on Sabina. I think that’s what makes her, her. And why I like her. She’s set in a way, but over the series you do see small changes. It’s good. But that’s why some people don’t like her. I’m with you on liking the rough characters. lol.

  6. jenn says :

    LOL. Glad we’re on the same page for her. Makes me want to jump into Violet Tendencies right now! I almost wish I hadn’t started Fair Game by Patricia Briggs last night. 😉

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Obligatory recap post: What I reviewed in 2013 | I READ GOOD - January 6, 2014

Leave a Reply

