Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent

Rachel Vincent - Shadow BoundReleased: May 22, 2012
Format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Mira

Series: Unbound #2

Source: Review copy from publisher

If you live in the dark long enough, you begin to forget the light…

Kori Daniels is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she’s ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if it means taking it from someone else….

The job? Recruit Ian Holt-or kill him.

Ian’s ability to manipulate the dark has drawn interest from every syndicate in the world, most notably an invitation from Jake Tower. Though he has no interest in organized crime, Ian accepts the invite, because he’s on a mission of his own. Ian has come to kill Tower’s top Binder: Kori’s little sister.

Amid the tangle of lies, an unexpected thread of truth connecting Ian and Kori comes to light. But with opposing goals, they’ll have to choose between love and liberty….

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I always get really excited when a new Rachel Vincent book comes out. I was particularly thrilled by BLOOD BOUND, the first book in the series, so I had been waiting rather impatiently for SHADOW BOUND (making my slackness on this one rather embarrassing). I have high standards for her writing because she consistently delivers engaging plots, delightfully flawed characters, and layered worlds. [UPDATE: You can visit my post on the first book in the trilogy to see my take on the world building in the series.]

With SHADOW BOUND, I was a little unsure of what to expect from the romance because Kori starts out in such a dark place. And while I have my doubts that someone can go from being caged and raped to falling in love and having sex in a couple weeks, nothing about the romantic storyline felt terribly forced. I had a few moments of thinking, “Wow, she’s really bouncing back,” and wondering about how realistic that was but it never threw me out of the story. In fact, I spent most of the book wondering how the heck they were going to get out of this situation that seemed to be getting tighter and more less escapable with every turn of the page!

My favourite part of the book was probably Ian. He’s so noble and smart and sexy. He exposes himself to the world to try to save his twin brother, and is willing to do just about anything to do so until he meets Kori and falls for her. Watching their attraction and following their romance was really great because Kori’s about as far from a traditional romance leading lady as you can get. She swears, she’s a fighter, and she’s does terrible things, all for her sister.

After hearing all about Kenley in BLOOD BOUND, it’s neat to finally meet her and see what all the fuss is about. She’s an incredibly powerful Binder and it’s nice to put a face on the woman who bound Kori, Olivia, and company when she was a child. I won’t say too much so that you can enjoy it for yourselves. We also get to see more of Cam and Olivia, which is great, even if they do work for another Syndicate.

On the whole, I greatly enjoyed SHADOW BOUND. I have yet to meet a Rachel Vincent book I haven’t liked and hope that trend continues as I plan to dig into her YA Soul Screamers series this fall (having failed to complete the reading challenge in time).

This book was one of the many titles on my NetGalley Knockout list! 

Thanks, as always, to Christen of Goldilox and the Three Weres for putting this together.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent”

  1. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says :

    This is a series I do want to try, and an author I need to get to. Glad to hear you are enjoying it. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. NetGalley Knockout — Results | I READ GOOD - October 20, 2012
  2. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

