Early review: In a Fix by Linda Grimes

In a Fix - Linda GrimesRelease date: September 4, 2012
Format: Trade paperback
Publisher: Tor

Series: ?

Source: Tor via NetGalley

Snagging a marriage proposal for her client while on an all-expenses-paid vacation should be a simple job for Ciel Halligan, aura adaptor extraordinaire. A kind of human chameleon, she’s able to take on her clients’ appearances and slip seamlessly into their lives, solving any sticky problems they don’t want to deal with themselves. No fuss, no muss. Big paycheck.

This particular assignment is pretty enjoyable…that is, until Ciel’s island resort bungalow is blown to smithereens and her client’s about-to-be-fiancé is snatched by modern-day Vikings. For some reason, Ciel begins to suspect that getting the ring is going to be a tad more difficult than originally anticipated.

Going from romance to rescue requires some serious gear-shifting, as well as a little backup. Her best friend, Billy, and Mark, the CIA agent she’s been crushing on for years—both skilled adaptors—step in to help, but their priority is, annoyingly, keeping her safe. Before long, Ciel is dedicating more energy to escaping their watchful eyes than she is to saving her client’s intended. 

Suddenly, facing down a horde of Vikings feels like the least of her problems.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect from IN A FIX but I just couldn’t resist requesting it on NetGalley after I read the cover copy.  I mean, what urban fantasy fan wouldn’t be intrigued by the idea of aura adapters? It’s so fresh and original. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some vampires, weres, and witches but I also adore authors who step outside the traditional supernaturals and bring us something a little off the beaten UF track. Linda Grimes does so with verve and cleverness.

IN A FIX is Ciel Halligan’s story. She’s an aura adapter who runs her own business, using her abilities to help them fix their lives, often by stepping into their skins. She’s an irreverent, fun heroine whom I adored her from page 1. She’s got some of the best one-liners I’ve read recently and I loved her voice. Ciel is a fun character — sometimes flighty, always loyal, quippy, and stubborn — and her narration made me laugh out loud a few times.

I also think the plot develops in a fun and engaging way. You’re never sure what’s going to happen next, in no small part due to Ciel’s ability to get into situations, and I was sucked into the adventure quite quickly.

The world building in IN A FIX is also excellent. I love the idea of aura adapting (in lieu of shapeshifting) and I just about died with all of the neo-Viking stuff. It’s so original and delightful! And this world is inhabited by some truly outstanding characters. Billy and Mark and polar opposites and I loved watching Ciel interact with them, particularly Billy, since she mostly got gooey over Mark.

Here’s the trailer:

I truly hope that IN A FIX is the beginning of a series because I want more Ciel in my life!

This book was one of the many titles on my NetGalley Knockout list! I’m patting myself on the back for tackling another book on the list (even though it was a total pleasure to read).

Thanks, as always, to Christen of Goldilox and the Three Weres for putting this together.

Tags:

6 responses to “Early review: In a Fix by Linda Grimes”

  1. lindagrimes says :

    Thank you for the lovely review–I’m so glad you enjoyed In a Fix. Ciel’s world is a whole lot of fun to write.

    The next book in the series (Quick Fix) will be coming out in July 2013. I hope you’ll like it, too!

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks, Linda! So glad to hear that there will be another book, and within a year, too!

  3. kimmiepoppins says :

    I agree completely!!! Everything is fresh about this book, the one liners are great and it has a boat load of chemistry!!!!

  4. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says :

    Oh great! I’ve just started to see this one around and it sounds like a fun great read. Thank you! And glad you liked it.

Leave a Reply

