Sometimes life gets in the way

Obviously, I haven’t been around for a while and I’m sorry for not posting about this sooner. This has been a crazy semester and it hasn’t left me much time for reading. Most of the posts that have shown up here and on Tynga’s Reviews had been scheduled for months because I really haven’t had the time to read. First time in my life and it’s not my fave experience but hopefully we’ll get back to normal soon.

For those who are interested, here’s the scoop on why I’ve been M.I.A.:

  • My dissertation had to be submitted by June 22 in order for me to graduate in the fall. This was very, very important to me as I’m in my sixth year of Ph.D. school  and really wanted to get things wrapped up. I did meet the deadline (yay!!) but not without a lot of long nights because…
  • I was rocking three jobs for a while. All part-time, all great, but definitely more work than I should have committed to while finishing up my dissertation. I am teaching a course at the university, was TAing another (in a different department), and started a new administrative position mid-June. I’m surprised my boyfriend stuck around through all of this. Our house was a disaster, I’m sure I was a grumpasaurus, and I’m surprised with both survived with positive feelings intact. 🙂

The good news? I’m down to two jobs now and I’m on a two-week research break so I hope to start reading a lot more soon. I have a stack of books burning a hole in my e-reader and I desperately want to share them with you. The next couple weeks are a bit busy but you’ll slowly see I Read Good get back into fighting form. Thanks for sticking with me!

2 responses to “Sometimes life gets in the way”

  1. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says :

    You have got to be one amazing reader to keep up with books and working like that! And don’t worry. I’m still here, and sure many others are too. 🙂

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks, Melissa! Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

