Dollhouse: Epitaphs Volume One

Dollhouse Volume OneReleased: April 11, 2012
Format: Trade paperback
Publisher: Dark Horse Comics

Series: Dollhouse #1

Source: Dark Horse via NetGalley

The Rossum Corporation’s Dollhouse technology has gone viral with a synchronized phone call that wiped the minds of everyone it reached, turning them into mindless killers. Those who avoided the call–including show favorites Echo, Alpha, Mag, Zone, and Griff–must try to survive in the sudden apocalypse and be wary of Rossum’s expansive technological reach. This is only the beginning! Collects the complete miniseries.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I am bonkers for Joss Whedon. Absolutely bonkers. I love pretty much everything the man does, though Dollhouse is not my favourite of his creations. I think it’s a neat idea with a lot of potential but the show didn’t really capitalize on that, for a variety of reasons that have been eloquently discussed on other sites. Possibly my favourite part of the series were the Epitaph episodes, which look at the world in the near future, when the technology that the Rossum Corporation developed to create the dolls is unleashed on the world. The main characters in these episodes are Zone and Mags and they’re the stars of this graphic novel. Dollhouse: Epitaphs Volume One looks at the events from ground zero. We see just how Zone and Mags met up I’d recommend this graphic novel to anyone who’s familiar with the Dollhouse world. It highlights a lot of issues about technological advancement and lets us get a better look at the post-Rossum world.

I don’t know much about comics other than I like them. A lot. I can’t tell you anything super technical about Dollhouse: Epitaphs Volume One but I will say that I really enjoyed this graphic novel. I’d been curious about how Zone and Mags met up and what they were doing when Rossum first unleashed the tech and now I know. Some of it was rather unexpected so I think it will please Dollhouse fans. There’s also some quality Alpha time, which I loved. He’s one of the most interesting characters in the Dollhouse-verse and it was great to see him strive to be a do-gooder.

I also think the artist did a great job of capturing the actors’ likenesses and the spirit of their characters, which I appreciate. I’d wholeheartedly recommend Dollhouse: Epitaphs Volume One to fans of the show but I don’t know if it will satisfy people who are unfamiliar with the world since there are so many things up in the air at the end. But it does say “Volume One” in the title so I’m going to withhold full judgment on the recommendation possibilities for now.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Dollhouse: Epitaphs Volume One”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh I already have this on the want list. 😀 So glad to see you enjoyed it. I enjoyed the show. I do think that with tv series they have a habit of getting away from the main storyline and that losses interest. But when they came back to it here for closing it was wonderfully done. 🙂

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks, Melissa! I thought it was a lot of fun. Can’t wait for Volume 2!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

