My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent (the redux edition)

Rachel Vincent My Soul To TakeReleased: August 1, 2009
Format: Trade paperback
Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Series: Soul Screamers #1

Source: Personal shelf

She doesn’t see dead people, but…

She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I re-read My Soul To Take as part of the Soul Screamers reading challenge, hosted by Fiktshun. I’ve been slow to get started but hopefully this is the first of many Soul Screamers posts. =)

When I first read My Soul To Take, I hadn’t read much YA and my general reaction was a happy one, though I found the book to be a bit short. This time around, the length of the novel didn’t bother me, maybe because I’ve been reading more YA.

I really loved my re-introduction to Kaylee and her world. Kaylee is such a great protagonist. She’s got a strong sense of self but her world gets turned upside down when she learns she’s actually a bean sidhe and that her family has been keeping that a secret from her. Despite the newness of her gift, she wants to try to stop the mysterious deaths that have been happening in town and she does so with the help of Nash, the cute,  popular boy who has never really paid attention to her up until now. I loved watching Kaylee and Nash get to know each other and finding out why they have such a strong connection.

Revisiting My Soul To Take has definitely a lot of fun and I look forward to the next book. I don’t think I’ll get through all of them in time to finish the reading challenge but I’ll still have the pleasure of enjoying some amazing stories.

Tags: ,

2 responses to “My Soul To Take by Rachel Vincent (the redux edition)”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh I love that you are doing this re-read. Makes me want to read the books. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

