Cry Wolf by Angela Campbell

Released: October 31, 2011
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina

Series: n/a

Source: Carina (via NetGalley)

Andrea Lockhart’s job as a reporter for cheesy tabloid The Naked Truth isn’t exactly where she thought her journalism career would end up. She’s determined to make the best of it, but when her editor sends her to Woodbine, South Carolina, to investigate a werewolf sighting, Andrea decides the ridiculous assignment will be her last. Until she meets Sean Hunter.

The last time she saw Sean, he had just beat her out for the position of editor of their college newspaper, and told her she’d never make it as a reporter. Given his grand ambitions, she’s shocked to find him editing the Woodbine Weekly. Once they start competing for leads on the werewolf, Andrea becomes determined to break the story first-she can’t let Sean beat her again.

As they each get closer to finding the source of the rumors, the only thing more surprising than the truth are the feelings Sean is able to stir in her, feelings she thought she had left behind…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I have to say, this book was not what I expected. I received my review copy a long tie ago and I guess I forgot it was a contemporary romance not a paranormal one, so I kept expecting more supernatural stuff. My confusion is entirely on me, not the publisher or the author, but I think it affected my reading. Don’t get me wrong, I did really enjoy the story and the characters.

Andrea and Sean are a nice pair. They went to college together, parted ways after Sean was incredibly rude and cutting, and now they find themselves in the same town without any warning. Their history comes out pretty quickly so that we can understand my Andrea isn’t thrilled to run into Sean, despite how much she’s changed.  Thankfully for the HEA, Sean is no longer a jerk — he’s actually a rather upstanding guy. The two of them have chemistry that’s through the roof, which makes the sexy scenes quite steamy.  My main complaint about the lead characters has to do with Andrea — the author’s given her a lot of tragedy in her back story but it’s not explored as much as I would have liked. It’s not that I wanted Andrea to be damaged, it’s just that I felt like she was occasionally shallow. But these little flashes were definitely outweighed by her smarts and determination, which I truly appreciated.

In terms of the werewolf business,  I thought that Angela Campbell resolved the whole idea in a reasonable manner. I wasn’t 100% satisfied with it but it was the most plausible outcome given that this book is rooted in reality. The storyline gave the romance some extra thrills, which was great. I look forward to seeing what else Angela Campbell produces.

Tags:

2 responses to “Cry Wolf by Angela Campbell”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I like more paranormal as well. But sounds like a good read. 🙂 Thank you for the review.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

