Under Her Brass Corset by Brenda Williamson

Brenda williamson Under Her Brass CorsetReleased: February 27, 2012
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina

Series: n/a

Source: Review copy from Carina

Since the loss of her father, Abigail Thatch’s life has been in turmoil. Her social status is in shambles, her finances depleted, and she’s on the verge of losing her beloved home. But everything changes when she meets the dashing flying machine captain Jasper Blackthorn. Not only does he introduce her to a world she thought only existed in myth and legend, he awakens sensual feelings deep within her…

Jasper may be immortal, but he hasn’t truly lived in years. Having secretly watched over Abigail as a favor to her notorious grandfather, he can’t resist arranging a “chance” meeting with the beauty. But he has an ulterior motive: to retrieve the mystical Crystal Compass hidden in her house before it falls into the wrong hands. He never imagines he’ll be tempted to love again…

When Abigail learns the truth, she and Jasper embark on a journey that will change both of their lives—and possibly the world…

 * * * * * * * * * * * * *
It’s been too long since I’ve posted a review here, thanks to my dissertation (now almost done!), but I’ve finally managed to sneak in some time to read. My choice: Under Her Brass Corset by Brenda Williamson. I was in the mood for some steampunk romance and thought this would fit the bill. In some ways it does, but in others it was not at all what I expected.When I read the cover copy, I expected Under Her Brass Corsetto be a fun adventure. I didn’t expect pirates. And it’s mostly about pirates. I probably should have guessed from the skull and swords and treasure map background on the cover but I mostly oohed and aahed over the gorgeous image and didn’t focus on the corner details when I was browsing Carina’s offerings on NetGalley. My bad. Don’t get me wrong, I love pirates, but it wasn’t what I thought the book was going to about so I needed a bit of time to shift my expectations.I really enjoyed the hero and heroine of the story. Jasper is a dashing gentleman with quite the history. He also has a gift for invention, which is where most of the steampunk elements of the story come from. As an immortal, he’s had a lot of time to see the world and it shows. Abigail is like a breath of fresh air to Jasper. She’s got none of the qualities you might expect to see from a woman in a period novel: she’s spunky, courageous, and skeptical. She’s also something of a free spirit, bucking convention in many ways, including having premarital sex. She’s also all alone in the world since her father was killed two weeks before we meet her. There are also some lovely secondary characters but I won’t talk about them so that they remain a surprise. 😉

One thing I didn’t like about Under Her Brass Corset was the amount of sex in the story. I generally avoid erotica because I’m more interested in the characters than in the different positions they use and Under Her Brass Corset has several multi-page sex scenes, plus some self-lovin’. Brenda Williamson also uses some words to refer to Abigail’s lady parts that really didn’t jive for me. Specifically, there’s one word in Chapter 11 that made me double-take because I couldn’t believe she’d used it, particularly since the book is told from Abigail’s perspective. None of the sex is badly written but I really wasn’t expecting as much graphic sex or sexy thoughts in a 70,000 story. These scenes will go over very well with readers who enjoy a lot of spice but I feel compelled to warn you that there’s a lot of it in Under Her Brass Corset.

All in all, though, I did enjoy the story in Under Her Brass Corset. It has a fun, if somewhat predictable, plot and I really enjoyed Merlin the cat. I’m curious to see what Brenda Williamson does next.


Tags:

3 responses to “Under Her Brass Corset by Brenda Williamson”

  1. melissamyworldinwordsandpages says :

    Glad you ended up enjoying this one. I know when you go in thinking one thing and the book has something different it’s hard to switch thinking. But sounds like you did a great job, and enjoyed it. 🙂 Thank you!

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks, Melissa!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

