Hot Mama by Jennifer Estep

Released: June 9, 2011
Format: e-book
Publisher: Jennifer Estep

Series: Bigtime #2

Source: Personal shelf

Fiona Fine is the hottest fashion designer in Bigtime, N.Y. – literally. That’s because she moonlights as Fiera, a superhero with superstrength and volatile, fire-based powers. As Fiera, she’s also a member of the Fearless Five, the city’s most powerful and popular superhero team.

However, Fiona’s been through a lot lately, including the death of her fiance, who was murdered by an ubervillain. But Fiona is ready to move on with her life, so it seems like good karma when she meets sexy businessman Johnny Bulluci at a friend’s wedding.

But Fiona has little time to think of love thanks to Siren and Intelligal – the city’s newest ubervillains who crash the wedding and then go on a citywide crime spree. Fiona doesn’t know exactly what the ubervillains are up to, but if she doesn’t figure it out, she’s the one who just might go up in flames this time…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Having enjoyed Karma Girl, the first book in Jennifer Estep‘s Bigtime series, I was looking forward to reading Hot Mama since it features one of the most exciting characters from Karma Girl, Fiona Fine, also known as the superhero Fiera. I enjoyed her sass and verve in Karma Girl so I was sure that the author would have a special kind of hero in mind for Fiona. Johnny definitely fits the bill. He’s handsome and charismatic and has a secret of his own, which makes for some interesting interactions and discoveries along the way.

I have to say, I enjoyed Hot Mama more than Karma Girl. Fiona and Johnny’s relationship is quite complicated and it feels a bit deeper than Carmen and Sam’s.  Fiona and Johnny have a serious issue — his quest for vengeance and her conflicting belief in justice — and it makes their emotional journey a bit more meaningful. Plus, Fiona’s more assertive and feisty, which I like in a protagonist.

I think I’m going to hold off for a while before reading Jinx, the next (and last) book in the series. We meet the titular character in Hot Mama and I’m not as interested in her story. I still love me some Jennifer Estep but I have a copy of Thread of Death to get to and I do prefer grittier novels/novellas these days.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Hot Mama by Jennifer Estep”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh, wonderful! The second book being liked as much and more. 🙂 I do think I need this series as well. *sigh* All these books! lol Thank you!

  2. jenn says :

    They’re a lot of fun! I’m not as excited about JINX because I don’t love that character as much but I’m saving it for a rainy day. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

