Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Released: July 26, 2011
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Philomel

Series: Nightshade #2

Source: Personal shelf

This thrilling sequel to the much-talked-about Nightshade begins just where it ended-Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemy, and she’s certain her days are numbered. But then the Searchers make her an offer-one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save the pack-and the man-she left behind. Is Ren worth the price of her freedom? And will Shay stand by her side no matter what? Now in control of her own destiny, Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials true love can endure and still survive.

 * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I waited longer than I would have liked to read Wolfsbane. I thoroughly enjoyed Nightshade but decided not to purchase Wolfsbane right away in a desperate attempt to be somewhat frugal. Thankfully, I got Wolfsbane for Christmas so I could finally sink my teeth into the second novel in Andrea Cremer‘s fantastic trilogy.

Calla’s in a very different place at the start of Wolfsbane. When we first met her in Nightshade, she was full of faith and confidence; in Wolfsbane, she wakes up in her enemy’s hands, unsure of everything. And this is just the beginning of the emotional turmoil and physical danger that Calla faces in this novel.

One of the things I appreciate most about this series is how genuine Calla’s emotions are. I really emphasized with her. She’s torn in so many different directions but she does her best to remain true to her pack. In fact, all of the characters have great emotional grounding. It makes it easier to connect to all of them, including the new faces that we meet on the Searchers’ side.

While I’m not fussy about the cover — I prefer the UK editions — the content remains strong. I thoroughly enjoyed Wolfbane and I can only imagine what will happen to Calla and her pack in the final book in the trilogy, Bloodrose. It’s out now so it’s just a matter of scraping together the $20 for the hardcover…because there’s no way I’m going to wait for the paperback!

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    lol. Scraping together the money for the hardcover. 😀 Must really be loving there books. I do want to get them…. one of these days. 🙂 Thank you!!

  2. jenn says :

    There’s a part of me that wishes I’d been able to wait for the paperback but, on the other hand, I just *need* to find out what’s going to happen to Calla, Shay, and Ren in the next one and it’s so hard to wait when things get released as hardcovers first. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

