No One To Trust by Julie Moffett

Released: June 13, 2011
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina

Series: Lexi Carmichael #2

Source: Carina Press / netGalley

SWFG: Single, White, Female, Geek.

That’s me, Lexi Carmichael, a reformed hacker who was gainfully employed by the National Security Agency. But a series of extraordinary events led me to leave government life behind for a fresh start with a brand-new company and an incredibly sexy boss, Finn Shaughnessy. It may not be kosher to have the hots for your boss, but he seems to have the hots for me, too. If only things didn’t get so complicated…

Darren Greening, a genius researcher from Flow Technologies (our first client!) is missing, and his bosses think I’m involved. And they aren’t the only ones-the man who nearly snapped my neck in the parking garage thinks so, too.

Now I’m caught in the middle of a complex and dangerous case. I’ll have to use all my geek skills and a little help from my friends to solve the mystery of Darren’s disappearance before Neck-Snapping-Man makes a return visit…

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

As always, I’m grateful to Carina Press for the review copy of this e-book.

This is my first time reading Julie Moffett. She doesn’t write urban fantasy or paranormal romance; instead, she writes chick lit mysteries and historical romances, two genres I read more occasionally. I wasn’t entirely certain what to expect from No One To Trust but I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this story. It’s written with a fun, light tone that sort of reminds me of Sarah Strohmeyer’s Bubbles books or Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series, though there are fewer Stooge-esque moments in No One To Trust.

Lexi Carmichael is a cute and quirky protagonist. An ex-hacker who now works in the private sector, she’s thrown into a whole new realm with this case, the first she tackles at her new place of employment. It’s a nicely plotted missing persons case that requires Lexi’s special talents. She’s being romanced by her boss, Finn, which adds a nice subplot. Unfortunately, Finn, like most of the characters in the story, seem rather one dimensional. He’s charming and delightfully Irish but that’s about all he’s got going on. This could be because I haven’t read the first novel but I think each instalment in a series should have some character work. Nonetheless, I’d recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a fluffy chick lit mystery.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “No One To Trust by Julie Moffett”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    It does sound like fun. 🙂 Thank you!

  2. jenn says :

    Thanks for commenting, Melissa. No One To Trust is definitely a good book when you’re in the mood for something fluffy. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

