Brass & Bone by Cynthia Gael

Released: October 10, 2011
Format: e-book
Publisher: Carina

Series: n/a

Source: Carina / netGalley

Being Simon Thorne, friend and collaborator to Lady Abigail Moran, isn’t easy. Yes, being a daring thief does have its charms. But I still haven’t convinced Abigail that she loves me, and thievery, for all the romantical writers say of it, is not the way to wealth. Especially if Abigail insists we continuously repair the airship with our ill-gotten gains.

So when an old friend summons us to his estate and offers us a daring job with a hefty paycheck, we’re happy to accept. The mission: use our airship to transport secret cargo halfway across the globe. Oh, and we mustn’t forget to take along the witch and her sinister keeper. A witch more beguiling than expected and her keeper—or is that companion?—with secrets darker than one could imagine.

Alas. Perhaps I have finally bitten off more than I can chew…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I always waver about how I feel about novellas. They’re either fantastic (like Crime Scene in a Corset) or meh for me. Unfortunately, Brass & Bone leans more towards the meh side of things because it left me feeling unsatisfied. I really liked Simon and Cynara, the two characters who take turns narrating, but the plot meanders without giving a sense of resolution and the hopping between narrators is distracting, particularly the first time Cynara starts narrating since it was completely out of the blue.

I think that Brass & Bone would have worked better for me if I were more familiar with Cynthia Gael‘s work. The idea of the Witchfinders is from her Balefire Universe; Brass & Bone takes the idea and transplants it into a steampunk setting. Perhaps I’d have enjoyed this more if I were more familiar with her work.

Tags:

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2012 | I READ GOOD - January 3, 2013

Leave a Reply

