Conquering Paul Goat Allen, or my personal reading challenge for 2012

Well, not the man, but his list of the best paranormal novels of 2011. I’ve decided that I’m going to try to get through most of these in 2012, if I haven’t already read them. There are 26 books on the list including the honourable mentions and I’ve only read  seven of them so far. It’s a big task since it involves catching up or starting some series but I think it’ll be a fun reading challenge for myself, even though my dissertation may hamper things a bit…

Read on to see what books made the list!

1. Pale Demon by Kim Harrison (The Hollows #9)

I’m not up-to-date with this series so this will be a challenge. I stopped reading after For a Few Demons More (the fifth book) but I have copies of some of the subsequent books so hopefully I’ll fall back in love with Rachel Morgan when I start The Outlaw Demon Wails.

2. Downpour by Kat Richardson (Greywalker #5)

 Another series I’ve started but haven’t kept up with. I adored the first two books in the series so I’m not sure why I stopped reading. At this point, I’ll chalk it up to a terrifying TBR pile. 🙂

3. No Hero by Jonathan Wood

Never heard of this one but it sounds like fun.

4. The Breaking by Marcus Pelegrimas (Skinners #5)

I’ve been very curious about this series so I’m looking forward to this one.

5. Aloha From Hell by Richard Kadrey (Sandman Slim #3)

Another series I’ve never heard of but it sounds really fun.

6. Etched in Bone by Adrian Phoenix (Maker’s Song #4)

I read the first book in the series a while ago but I haven’t kept up with this one either.


7. Green-Eyed Demon by Jaye Wells (Sabina Kane #3)

I just purchased the first book and I’ve only heard wonderful things about this series so I’m very much looking forward to this.

8. Late Eclipses by Seanan McGuire (October Daye #5)

Finally, one I’ve already read (and loved). You can see what I think here.

9. Tempest’s Legacy by Nicole Peeler (Jane True #3)

I liked Tempest Rising but not enough to move it onto my To-Buy list so I’ll only get this one done if I can find them at the library.

10. Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris (Southern Vampire/Sookie Stackhouse #11)

I read it but never blogged about it. Shame on me. I liked it a lot more than the previous couple instalments. You’ll just have to take my word on it.

11. Kindling the Moon by Jenn Bennett (Arcadia Bell #1)

Bought it just before Christmas after seeing it on this list and I can’t wait to read it.


12. Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton (Anita Blake #20)

Read it, enjoyed it, can’t wait for the next one.

13. Hounded by Kevin Hearne (Iron Druid Chronicles #1)

My favourite new author of 2011, I’ve read Hounded, Hexed, and Hammered!

HONORABLE MENTIONS

Bloodshot by Cherie Priest (Cheshire Red #1)

Though I’m not a fan of Cherie Priest’s steampunk work, I loved Bloodshot!

Ghost Story by Jim Butcher (Dresden Files #13)

Waiting for the mass market version, which should come out this spring. I am so very excited about this story.

Black Heart Loa by Adrian Phoenix (Hoodoo #2)

Never tried this series.

Devil’s Business by Caitlin Kittredge (Black London #4)

Truthfully, Caitlin Kittredge’s writing hasn’t resonated with me in the past so I’m not sure how this will go. But I have the first book in the series so we’ll see how it goes.

Another Kind of Dead by Kelly Meding (Dreg City #3)

I’ve read Three Days to Dead (my thoughts) and am in the midst of Trance, the first book in Kelly Meding’s new series, so catching up with Evy should be fun.

Blood Work by Kim Harrison

A graphic novel set in The Hollows. Could be fun.

River Marked by Patricia Briggs

Woo, another book I’ve already read and adored!!

Spider’s Revenge by Jennifer Estep

Loved, loved, loved! There aren’t enough positive words to describe how much I adore this series and author.

Crossed by J.F. Lewis (Void City #3)

I’ve seen this series on the sheleves but never tried it.

Magic on the Hunt by Devon Monk (Allie Beckstrom #6)

I read the first Allie Beckstrom book a while ago but I am woefully behind. I’m not as big of a fan of this series so I’ve been hoping my local library would get it. So far, no luck…

The Shadow Reader by Sandy Williams (McKenzie Lewis #1)

I only recently got this book and I can’t wait to read it!!

Blackout by Rob Thurman (Cal and Niko #6)

I didn’t like the first book in this series so I’ll only get to this one if they carry the series at the library.

Shadow Walker by Allyson James (Stormwalker #3)

Sitting in my TBR pile. Can’t wait to get into it.

4 responses to “Conquering Paul Goat Allen, or my personal reading challenge for 2012”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh I have to say Paul is one amazing person! And an AMAAAAZING pick of books. Are you a member of the forums at Barnes&Nobles? I meet Paul there as he mediates the Urban Fantasy forum and Fantasy forum. He picks books each month and I have to say I’ve found amazing books through him. Do enjoy this list of books. 🙂 And if you haven’t joing the forums, please do and look me up! My screen name is Melhay

  2. jenn says :

    I’ll be sure to do that! Thanks, Melissa!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Kindling the Moon by Jenn Bennett | I READ GOOD - January 19, 2012
  2. Blood Blade by Marcus Pelegrimas | I READ GOOD - January 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

