Katniss’ fire dress in In Style!

In Style has had different designers sketch Katniss’ fire dress!! Some are great, some are not. (I’m looking at you, Mr. Hilfiger.) I’ve posted my favourites here. All images and italicized text from instyle.com.

Christian Siriano stayed true to the author’s vision with his sketch, and integrated his own elements as well. “I wanted to keep it an accurate portrayal of the book and keep it classic to the storyline but add a few exciting touches,” explains Siriano, “like a stiletto boot and windblown hair with multi-flame colors instead of a fiery headpiece.”

“The cape will appear like fire running through the forest,” Charlotte Ronson says of her sketch, which features a flame-colored cape draped over the black unitard. She even added a spot for Katniss’s stash of arrows—something that would definitely come in handy in the Games arena.

Nicole Miller outlined both the cape and unitard for Katniss. She describes the cape as a nylon “parachute” and tops it off with a headdress made with leather and feathers attached to wire. Underneath, she created a “zip-front black unitard with leather and metal stud trim.” Katniss’s a gorgeous long braid provides an expert finishing touch.

Christian Cota sketched a two-tone unitard for Katniss Everdeen, offset by shiny black knee high boots and a fiery hooded cape.

To see the rest of the sketches, visit the In Style website.

Tags:

2 responses to “Katniss’ fire dress in In Style!”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I think Christian Cota’s dress works in my mind with the book best. But all these are amazing! 😀 Thanks for sharing.

  2. jenn says :

    I think it might be my favourite as well, in terms of staying true to the image I have in my mind from the book. But these four are all gorgeous!! I can’t wait to see what they end up doing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

