Nightshade by Andrea Cremer

Released: October 19, 2010
Format: Hardcover
Publisher: Penguin

Series: Nightshade #1

Source: Personal shelf

Calla is the alpha female of a shape-shifting wolf pack. She is destined to marry Ren Laroche, the pack’s alpha male. Together, they would rule their pack together, guarding sacred sites for the Keepers. But then, Calla saves a beautiful human boy, who captures her heart. Calla begins to question everything – her fate, her existence, and her world and the orders the Keepers have asked her to follow. She will have to make a choice. But will she follow her heart if it means losing everything, including her own life?

* * * * * * * * * * * * * *

You know those books you pick up based on cover alone? Nightshade was one of those for me. The cover is just so gorgeous with all the shades of purple and the beautiful calla lilies…How could I not? Though I remain confused about why Calla is purple. Did I miss something in the book about her being purple? It’s possible because I read it fairly quickly…

When I started reading Nightshade, I was worried all of the hype in the blogosphere was out of proportion. I’m pleased to report that this was not the case. Nightshade is layered with great plot and a believable love triangle, and is steeped in rich world building that I found very satisfying. Calla is justifiably torn between Ren and Shay and it was impossible to tell who or how she would choose between them. I also loved the world that Andrea Cremer built for these characters; the idea of Keepers and Guardians and the history between them is steeped in mythology and detail. I felt instantly immersed in the environment and it was fantastic.

I also enjoyed the character growth that Calla experiences over the course of the novel. She’s forced to grow in ways she never anticipated, which is always a treat for the reader. Calla is forced to think deeply about her world and her upbringing and it’s a lot of fun watching her ride this particular roller coaster, in addition to the emotional one she experiences as a result of the two fellows in her life.

I’ve asked for the sequel, Wolfsbane, for Christmas so fingers crossed I’ll have another report for you soon!

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Nightshade by Andrea Cremer”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    Oh WONDERFUL! I don’t have this one yet, but I do want it (yes along with hundreds of other books) but this sounds great. And SOOO glad to hear the hype didn’t ruin the book with to high of expectations. 🙂 Thank you!

  2. jenn says :

    I hope you enjoy it when you get around to it! I’m really looking forward to Wolfsbane.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

