The Wild Irish Sea by Loucinda McGary

Released: July 6, 2010
Format: Mass market paperback
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca

Series: n/a

Source: Literary Escapism

Drawn together by a force they can’t resist…

The telepathic image of her twin brother fighting for his life sends Amber O’Neill rushing to the rocky shores of Ireland. Desperate to find him, she turns to reclusive local inspector Kevin Hennessey.

Bound together with a passion as relentless as the tide…

His past full of pain, Kevin has withdrawn from the world. But when the rain-drenched American appears on his doorstep with her wild tales of danger, something more than her sensuous beauty makes it impossible for him to turn her away.

The wildness of the sea, the mystery of a selkie prince, and a dangerous band of ruthless smugglers bring two lost souls together in a connection of mind, body, and spirit that can’t be denied.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

I won The Wild Irish Sea from the lovely Jackie at Literary Escapism a while back. It’s been sitting in my TBR pile for a good long while but I’d never really felt the urge to pick it up until recently.

Having never read Loucinda McGary, I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect. I was hoping for a lovely romance with some fantastic paranormal elements since it involves selkies. Unfortunately, I didn’t love The Wild Irish Sea. The connection between the two main characters–Amber and Kevin–seems genuine and authentic but that’s about the only thing I liked about the book. The basic plot, which sounded great, didn’t thrill me once I got into the novel because I couldn’t get past the way the author’s written dialect. Stories written in dialect are always dicey for me as a linguist and I just couldn’t get behind it in this book, though I wanted to like it. The accent is written in a stereotypical way that I found a little off-putting.

Ordinarily, I don’t post negative reviews on the blog since I don’t think it’s productive but part of the deal with winning a book on LE is that you post a review somewhere. I’m sad to say that I can’t really recommend this book. I’m sure there are folks out there who would enjoy this story but it wasn’t really my cup of tea.

Tags:

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

