Night’s Cold Kiss (Dark Brethren #1) by Tracey O’Hara

Released: January 1, 2009
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 352
Publisher: Eos

Source: Personal shelf

The tension between the Aeternus, an ancient vampiric people, and humanity has been mounting for over a century. But when rogue vampires begin to drain humans in order to achieve an illegal blood-high, all bets are off.

After the death of her parents, Antoinette Petrescu devoted her life to becoming one of the top Venators, the elite hunters who destroy the rogue Necrodreniacs. Her kill count is legendary and her skills superb.

But now the serial killer who killed her parents has returned. And to stop him Antoinette must join forces not only with the Aeternus, but also their most legendary killer. One that is both dangerously attractive, and involved in buried secrets of her past. More dangerous still, a dark attraction grows between them–one that could doom both races.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

This is my first time reading Tracey O’Hara‘s work. I’d been thinking of buying it for a while and then, thanks to Tynga, I found out about an amazing sale at bookcloseouts.ca and it was available for $1.74 (plus applicable taxes and S&H). How could I resist?

Night’s Cold Kiss is an interesting entry into the paranormal romance genre. Just reading the back of the book reminded me a lot of Colleen Gleason‘s Gardella Vampire Chronicles — but not because of content similarities, though they do both feature vampires. Rather, it was because of the use of the label Venator for the people fighting the supernatural. I assume it’s some sort of Latin derivative (from the word for “hunt”, I think) and so I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised to see it pop up more than once but this is only the second time I’ve seen it and so it really jumped up at me when I read it. And I couldn’t remember precisely which series it was from at first so I kept trying to figure it out every time the word “Venator” came up in Night’s Cold Kiss. Probably not the best start but it’s probably a personal quirk more than anything else.

How was that for tangential?

The author does a good job of immersing the reader into the story almost immediately. Her descriptions of Antoinette’s work as a Venator really draw you in and give you a great feel for what the action is going to be like. The chapter that introduces Christian more fully is supposed to do the same thing but what it made me think was mostly along the lines of Oh my gosh this is quite adult since he has balcony sex with a blood donor. It was a little light on personality and heavy on details, as are most of the sexual scenes in the book. Heavy on details, I mean. At least you can’t question the chemistry between Antoinette and Christian.

While a high smut factor isn’t necessarily my cup of tea, I really enjoyed the non-romantic parts of the storyline. The serial killer plot was interesting and well-written. I thought it was compelling and had some unexpected turns, though there were a couple moments where I felt a little ahead of Antoinette.

Overall, I thought Night’s Cold Kiss was a fun read and I’m glad I finally picked it up. I’m curious to see what the second book in the Dark Brethren series, Death’s Sweet Embrace, has to offer.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Night’s Cold Kiss (Dark Brethren #1) by Tracey O’Hara”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    That is a great deal. 🙂 I’ve thought about getting into this series, but just haven’t done it yet. Thanks for the review. I know now its a good read and start to a new series for me. 🙂

  2. jenn says :

    Yeah it was a rather fun read. I hope I can get the next book just as cheaply. 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

