Right Hand Magic (Golgotham #1) by Nancy A. Collins

Released: December 7, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 289
Publisher: Roc
ISBN-13: 978-00-451-46366-1

Like most Manhattanites, aspiring artist Tate can’t resist a good rental deal-even if it’s in the city’s strangest neighborhood, Golgotham, where for centuries werewolves, centaurs, and countless other creatures have roamed the streets.

Her new landlord is a sorcerer name Hexe, who is determined to build his reputation without using dark, left-hand magic. As Tate is drawn into Hexe’s fascinating world, they both find that the right hand does not always know what the left hand is doing-and avoiding darkness is no easy trick…

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

If I had to summarize my feelings about Right Hand Magic, I’d have to say “mediocre”. There’s nothing inherently wrong with the novel but I wasn’t hooked. Tate’s a moderately interesting protagonist: she’s a regular human with a trust fund and a penchant for creating sculptures out of metal. She also has a foppish ex-boyfriend and a desire to move to Golgotham, the part of New York City inhabited by creatures of legend, including centaurs, leprechauns, and a species known Kymerans, who look a lot like people excet they have crazy-coloured hair and six fingers and practice either Left Hand magic (evil), Right Hand magic (good), or a combination of both. It’s an interesting concept but fairly middle-of-the-road for urban fantasy.ย  Plus, the “gotham” in “Golgotham” keeps making me think of Batman, which is rather distracting.

On the other hand, Tate’s romance with her Kymeran landlord, Hexe (with the obligatory extra silent “e” to make it sound cool), is actually fairly believable. There’s a lot of attraction and tension, and a nice pay-off by the end of the novel. You can see their connection and you want things to work out for them.

Overall, I think Nancy A. Collins has produced a satisfactory novel but I don’t think I’ll be buying any of her other books. She’s definitely a library book from now on.

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Right Hand Magic (Golgotham #1) by Nancy A. Collins”

  1. Melissa (My World...in words and pages) says :

    I’ve read books that there is nothing wrong with and the story is good, but I just don’t seem to be taken aback by it. And I do enjoy the book, but it doesn’t stick out for me. Sounds like this book was that way for you. Thanks for the review. It’s a new book for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. jenn says :

    Yup, that’s exactly how it was. ๐Ÿ™‚ I always feel bad when I can’t recommend a book to people but I’d feel worse saying that this was one of the best books I’ve read when it’s not.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

