Wake by Lisa McMann

Released: March 4, 2008
Format: e-book
ISBN-13: 978-1-416-95357-9 (Hardcover)

Lisa McMann‘s Wake has been on my radar for a while. I’ve read a lot of good reviews for the book, and its sequels, but I hadn’t had the opportunity to lay hands on it.

Wake‘s protagonist is 17-year-old Janie Hanagan, a fairly average teenager but for her ability to fall into other people’s dreams. She has little say in the matter, though she longs for control since she’s often sucked into nightmares, and learns people’s darkest secrets and fears. Eventually, a fellow student, a handsome older guy named Cabel, is let in on her secret, after she falls into his dreams. Together, they start exploring her abilities, and also start developing a romantic relationship.

I agree with Ann-Kat‘s assessment of the story. The book really does have a love-it-or-hate-it thing going for it, but I didn’t have a strong feeling about it. I thought it was a very original concept that needed a little bit of help with the execution. I really didn’t like the stylized prose. I understand it was supposed to represent a variety of things, including Janie falling into her dream-state, but I didn’t care for it. I found it distracting. I did, however, enjoy watching Janie and Cabel’s relationship develop, even though their attraction seemed a bit far-fetched at times. It was also great to see Janie start to get a handle on how her dreaming worked. I thought that was written in a very interesting way.

I can’t say that I’m interested in reading Gone and Fade but I can see this book appealing to people who like the Twilight series.

Tags:

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012
  2. Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi | I READ GOOD - January 23, 2012

Leave a Reply

