Kiss of Darkness by Loribelle Hunt

Released: January 24, 2011
Format: e-galley
ISBN-13: 978-1-426-89112-0

Once again, I have major gratitude toward Carina Press for allowing me to read an e-galley of Kiss of Darkness through netGalley. This is the first time I’ve read anything by Loribelle Hunt, though her website suggests she’s produced many other novels before this. In any case, when I read the story summary, I knew this would be an excellent read:

Winter, a hybrid, has spent her life at war. A group of humans who are part demon, the hybrids, along with the lupines and nightwalkers, have dedicated their lives to defeating demons and protecting humanity. Yet, despite their united cause, the three groups share an uneasy alliance.

When hybrid military compounds come under attack from demon insurgents, Winter has no choice but to turn to the lupines and nightwalkers for assistance. It’s a partnership based on necessity and she has no intention of letting down her guard with either group.

Marcus, the nightwalker Lord, has other plans. The immediate attraction between him and Winter promises a passion he can’t ignore. To claim her as his own, he’ll not only have to fight the demons who seem hell-bent on destroying her, but her own misconceptions about him and the nightwalker race. It’s a battle he refuses to lose.

I thoroughly enjoyed Kiss of Darkness. It was a fast-paced adventure with some nice romantic elements. I loved the idea of these three supernatural groups finally trying to join forces to fight demons, with some reluctance and mistrust. I also really loved Silver. She’s a strong protagonist with serious worries — demon incursions, letting her demon take her over and going rogue without the stability provided through bonding, leading her group, wondering if the two friends who became hybrids with her are also teetering on the edge — and a really awesome attitude. I thought her motivations, as well as most of the other characters’, were well thought-out and compelling, and I was definitely rooting for her throughout the novel. I found Marcus to be a compelling foil, very charismatic and powerful, but without being too overbearing (for the reader, at least). The subplots involving Silver’s friends were also great and definitely left me curious about where they’re going to go from here. I’m not sure if there’s a sequel lined up but I surely hope so. I’d love to read more of this world.

Tags:

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

