Sad panda face

I read something tragic yesterday, and ended up finding out more on the matter today, and I felt compelled to share this story here. Jessica Varday is an author I’d never heard of before this but this makes me want to show my support for her decision by supporting her writing. Basically, she submitted a story to the upcoming YA anthology Wicked Pretty Things about a romance between two guys. The publisher accepted the story but the editor asked her to change it to a heterosexual romance instead and, as a result, Jessica Varday has dropped out of the anthology. One of my favourite authors, Seanan McGuire, has done the same, to show her support of the LBGTQ community.

You can get the story in the author’s own words, first in her initial post, Being gay is okay, and then in her follow-up. You can also read Seanan McGuire’s take on the situation in this Livejournal entry.

It’s a crime that some people are still unwilling to block readers from stories about romance that’s not heterosexual. Though I am not a member of the LBGTQ community, there are important people in my life who are, and I think it’s reprehensible that their love is devalued.

UPDATE: You can read more about the issue here on Cleolinda’s page.

Leave a Reply

