Suck It, Wonder Woman! The Misadventures of a Hollywood Geek by Olivia Munn (with Mac Montandon)

Released: July 6, 2010
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 269
Publisher: St. Martin’s Press
ISBN-13: 978-0-312-59105-2

A friend recommended that I read Suck It, Wonder Woman! He thought the book was brilliant. I wasn’t all that familiar with Olivia Munn before I read the book. I mean, I knew that she was on Attack of the Show and that she did a guest spot on Chuck as one of the Gretas, but that was about it. No inklings about her personality or what type of writing to expect, though the blurb suggested it would be quite funny.

Suck It, Wonder Woman! is autobiographical, with brief snippets of Olivia Munn’s life interspersed with short comedic pieces. I rather enjoyed the autobiographical bits, since they were so outrageous and funny but I didn’t really care for the parts that were supposed to be fun bits of comedy. My favourite chapters were My First Agent’s Girlfriend’s Vagina, I Did It All for the Love of Pie, “Masturbatory” Is Not Always a Metaphor in Hollywood, and “If You Can Get Friction with That Tuba, You Deserve a 25-Year-Old Girlfriend.” The titles are self-explanatory so I don’t think I need to describe the contents. I also like how appreciative Olivia Munn is to her fans, devoting a whole chapter to their awesome artwork. It’s a very cool thing for a celebrity to do, and it’s one of the most genuine parts of the book.

Overall, though, I didn’t really care for the writing style of the book. I suppose it was meant to be irreverent and fun but Olivia Munn came off a bit self-absorbed at times.  I think she’s was really writing for the fanboy, with all of the “suck it” attitude. As someone who doesn’t idolize her, it came off as a bit much at times, particularly when she was writing with the goal of being funny. When she was recounting her life, however, I found her writing a lot more fluid and enjoyable, so I’d say that it’s a fun book overall. I don’t know that I can advocate buying it but it’s definitely worth a gander.

Tags:

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Posted in 2011 | I READ GOOD - January 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

