Hidden by Eve Kenin

Released: June 10, 2008
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 309
Publisher: Love Spell
ISBN-13: 978-0-505-52761-5
ISBN-10: 0-505-52761-8

Eve Kenin (also known as Eve Silver) is one of those authors who pops up in my Amazon recommendations feed every once in a while. I decided to take the plunge with Hidden when I happened upon it at the library the other day.

Hidden takes place after the events in her first book set in this world, Driven, which I haven’t read. This means I may be missing out on some of the nuances but I’d like to think I had a firm grasp on the plot of Hidden, which goes a little something like this:

In a world about 80 years in the future, Tatiana is a genetically enhanced woman on a mission: to eliminate Gavin Ward, an evil doctor who wants to experiment on her. She’s lived most of her life imprisoned with her brother and sister, but has broken out (presumably somewhere in Driven) and is now learning how to live in the real world, and how to handle her emerging gifts. She’s fairly single-minded until she meets Tristan, a man to whom she is incredibly attracted. As their relationship blossoms, they have to contend with a plague and being hunted.

I enjoyed this book more than I expected to. There were some moments of extremely dry humour that I surprised me and the action was described really well. The author has crafted a lovely story that is rooted in the possible, and the two lead characters were compelling. There were a couple predictable turns in the plot but that didn’t detract from my enjoyment of the novel. I’d be very interested in getting Driven from the library if it’s available but I think these books are not ones I necessarily need to own, especially since Hidden ends on a note that suggests there could be another book, though there isn’t one.

Eve Kenin books (click on the title to purchase through the Book Depository)

  1. Driven
  2. Hidden
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

