Grave Witch (Alex Craft #1) by Kalayna Price

Released: October 5, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 325
Publisher: Roc
ISBN-13: 978-0-451-46380-7

I read this book a while ago so it’s a brief review (with my apologies).

I picked up Grave Witch as part of Dark Faerie Tales’ debut urban fantasy authors challenge. I was a little leery since I’d tried reading Twice Dead and couldn’t get into it at all. I’m pleased to say that Grave Witch was a very pleasant surprise.

Grave Witch is about Alex Craft, a private investigator and police consultant gifted in grave magic. She’s even got a working relationship with a very good-looking Death. But things start going wrong when she starts a new case and is attacked by the “shade” she’s raising. Alex ends up having to work with Falin Andrews, a detective who seems to be hiding something and has a giant bone to pick with Alex’s investigation.

Kalayna Price has done a great job with the plot and the characters. I couldn’t put Grave Witch down, even when I should have been working on my dissertation. It’s a fun, fast-paced read with lots of neat folks and interesting plot turns. The mythology and witchcraft are well developed, plus there are some great reveals towards the end of the book. I’m really looking forward to the next installment, which will hopefully be just as entertaining.

Still trying to get this last reading challenge done. It’s not looking good but who knows…

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

