Blood Born by Linda Howard and Linda Jones

Released: April 27, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 466
Publisher: Ballantine
ISBN-13: 978-0-345-52076-0

I’ve been reading Linda Howard for a long time and I’m always excited when she puts out a new book. I hadn’t heard about Blood Born so I was rather excited when I saw it on the shelf at the bookstore.

Blood Born is another vampire-centered paranormal romance. The male lead is Luca Ambrus, a rare vampire who has two vampires for parents, hence the “blood born” moniker. He works with the Council, the body that governs vampires and keep them veiled in secrecy, until one of the Council members is murdered and a rebellion is uncovered, putting Luca on the hunt for a traitor among his own people. Members of this rebellion have been killing off human conduits, people with the ability to channel spirit warriors into the physical world. Luca saves one of these conduits, Chloe Fallon, and a bond builds between them as they try to find the traitor and quell the rebellion, with no one to trust but each other.

I had my doubts about this book when I first picked it up. Though I am a huge fan of urban fantasy and dabble in paranormal romance, I sometimes find paranormal romance to be a little too heavy on the sex and light on story for my tastes. Thankfully, this was not the case with Blood Born, though I think it was fairly obvious who the traitor was from early on in the book. This knowledge didn’t mar my enjoyment of the story, though, and it was fun watching Luca and Chloe connect, though their love did seem a bit forced and wooden at times. Their initial attraction was well-written but the development of the relationship was a bit predictable. Overall, the Lindas have created a great universe and Blood Born has many interesting subplots that are clearly destined for the next book in the series, Warrior Rising, coming out next year.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

