The Avengers: A Celebration by Marcus Hearn

Released: November 16, 2010
Format: Hardcover (oversized)
Pages: 160
Publisher: Titan
ISBN-13: 978-1-8486-6672-9

The Avengers is one of my biggest obsessions, and one I haven’t talked about on this blog since this site is all about books. (At least most of the time it is.) I first discovered it on A&E and then I bought it on VHS and then I upgraded to DVD. I have several non-fiction books about the series and a few novels based on the series, and even posters galore which currently reside in a tube since I’m a lazy decorator.

I should clarify: I am obsessed with the Emma Peel years, accept the Tara King years, and haven’t really been exposed to the Honor Blackman seasons. In any case, I was very excited when I found out that this book was coming out since it features lots of photos from episodes and behind-the-scenes.

The Avengers: A Celebration is a beautiful book but it’s pretty light on content. Be forewarned. I wasn’t and so I was a little bummed to see how little writing there was inside but I thoroughly enjoyed looking at all the glossy photos. I even learned some new facts about the series, which was cool.  I wouldn’t recommend this to someone without knowledge of the series but I think it’s a must-have for fans.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

