Bayou Moon (The Edge #2) by Ilona Andrews

Released: September 28, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 447
Publisher: Ace
ISBN-13: 978-0-441-01945-8

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I love Ilona Andrews‘ books. Bayou Moon is no exception. I really, really enjoyed it.

Bayou Moon takes place two years after The Edge, our first look into this amazing world that Ilona Andrews has created. This time around, the focus is a secondary character from The Edge, William, and a young woman from another part of the Edge named Cerise Mar, whose family is cash poor but land rich. Cerise’s family lives in the Mire and are at an uneasy peace with their neighbours until her parents vanish, leaving Cerise and her clan in a feud and Cerise on a mission to the Broken and back. William heads to the Mire in search of Spider, a long-time enemy. William and Cerise meet on their way to the Mire and they find that they’re fighting the same enemy.

I don’t even know where to start with this. It’s been a while since I read The Edge but immersing myself back in the world was easy and wonderful. William is even more enjoyable as a main character and Cerise is a fierce, tough protagonist, reminding me a lot of the protagonist of Ilona Andrews’ other series, Kate Daniels. (This is not in any way a bad thing.) The world building is rich and layered and it was so interesting to learn more about The Edge and its politics. It was also neat to see William’s changeling nature explored a bit more. Bayou Moon also gives the reader a lot of insight into the Weird (the magical part of the world), which was great since this was something I was curious about after reading The Edge.

I hope that there’s another book in the works and that it comes out soon because I just can’t wait. In the meanwhile, though, I’ll have to content myself with the sneak peek at the next Kate Daniels novel, Magic Slays, in the back of Bayou Moon.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

