Darkborn (Darkborn #1) by Alison Sinclair

Released: May 4, 2010
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 298
Publisher: Roc
ISBN-13: 978-0-451-46300-5

I happened upon Darkborn when I was at Chapters the other day. I’d never heard of the author or her series but I was immediately drawn in by the cover art and the blurb on the back, which I’m going to quote here:

For the Darkborn, sunlight kills. For the Lightborn, darkness is fatal. Living under a centuries-old curse, the Darkborn and the Lightborn share the city of Minhorne, coexisting in an uneasy equilibrium but never interacting…

When Darkborn physician Balthasar Hearne finds a pregnant fugitive on his doorstep just before sunrise, he has no choice but to take her in. Tercelle Amberley’s betrothed is a powerful Darkborn nobleman, but her illicit lover came to her through the daytime. When she gives birth to twin boys, they can see–something unheard of among the Darkborn.

Soon after, men arrive in search of the children. Balthasar is saved only by the intervention of his Lightborn neighbor–and healed by the hands of his wife, Telmaine.Soon Balthasar finds himself ensnared in a web of political intrigue and magic as an ancient enemy of both Darkborn and Lightborn appears in a new guise and with a hatred that has never waned. And Telmaine must confront a power she can no longer keep sheathed in gloves, a power she neither wants nor can control…

Awesome, no?

I really enjoyed reading Darkborn. It’s a great adventure, set in a very interesting world. Alison Sinclair has done a marvelous job crafting the world and its inhabitants and I love the way you just get tossed right in. I was a little confused at first, particularly about how sonning worked, but it came together rather quickly once I settled in. In terms of characters, I thought Telmaine, Ishmael, and Floria were fantastic; Bal was a little less inspiring but I think that’s what the author intended since she made him a softer, though by no means weak, man. Many of the secondary characters were intriguing and well developed, which makes me want to see more of them in the next book, Lightborn. (I’m going to have to wait a while for that, though, since it’s out in trade paperback format only right now; I have resolved to wait for some books to come out as mass market paperbacks to spare my pocketbook.)

All in all, Darkborn was a treat. The pages fly by effortlessly and I was completely sucked into this perfectly divided but oddly overlapping world. I highly recommend this book.

Darkborn trilogy (click on the title to purchase from The Book Depository)

  1. Darkborn
  2. Lightborn (trade paperback)
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

