The Kiss Murder (Turkist Delight #1) by Mehmet Murat Somer

Released: December 30, 2008
Format: Trade Paperback
Pages: 245
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN-13: 978-0-14-311472-7

I first heard about this book in Entertainment Weekly a year or so ago and have finally gotten around to reading it. The Kiss Murder is the first book in Mehmet Murat Somer’s Istanbul crime series starring an unnamed transvestite with an affinity for Audrey Hepburn. (The English versions are translations.)

Described as “whip-smart” on the cover blurb, I had high hopes for this book. It’s sold as a clever detective story with an atypical protagonist. I rather agree that the protagonist is different from your usual detective story but the plot wasn’t as intricate as I expected. In fact, it was probably the most straightforward plot I’ve read in a while. But it was still enjoyable, mostly for the insights into the Istanbul transvestite community.

Despite that, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing the next installment. There was something a little wooden about the writing style – maybe due to the fact that it’s a translation – but I didn’t find the book all that compelling. Sadly, my Turkish is non-existent, so I can’t pick the book up in its original language, which might make for a better read. In any case, though, I’m glad I checked it out. It’s an interesting premise, and an original contribution to the detective genre.

Turkish Delight series (click on the title to purchase from The Book Depository)

  1. The Kiss Murder
  2. The Gigolo Murder
Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

