Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea by Chelsea Handler

Released: April 30, 2008
Format: Hardcover
Pages: 264
Publisher: Simon Spotlight Entertainment
ISBN-13: 978-1-4169-5412-5

This is my first book by Chelsea Handler. I’ve seen some of her stuff on E! and find her to be at least averagely funny for a comedian, and so I thought I’d give Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea a try when I saw it at the library the other day.

Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea is a collection of 12 short autobiographical(-ish) essays. I didn’t like a couple of them that much but there was a lot of humour – and frankness – in most of them. I particularly liked the chapter called Big Red, partially because she muses on why redheads are called redheads when their hair is, in fact, a garish orange, and partially because my boyfriend is a ginger. Re-Gift is also a classic. And the last story, Costa Rica, is pretty funny because it’s about her relationship with her father, and he’s extremely inappropriate.

The collection definitely has some laugh-out-loud moments but I’m glad I got it from the library and didn’t purchase it outright. I find most humour books are funny the first time around but don’t often have a lot of staying power unless they’re absolutely amazing. And Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea is a lot of fun and I’ll keep an eye out for more Chelsea Handler books at the library, but I don’t know that I’ll be investing any time soon.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

