The Guild and Lisa Shearin

The Guild is one of my favourite shows. It’s an Internet show about MMO gamers by Felicia Day, which ordinarily has absolutely nothing to do with books. In this instance, there is actually a connection, which requires a bit of exposition. Before I get to that, though, I’m going to take a girl crush moment. Felicia Day is amazingly talented and I’ve been a fan for years. She’s not super famous but she’s one of my favourite actresses. I really admire her (and the rest of the cast and crew) for starting The Guild with no money and then sticking to her guns about ownership over the show, instead of taking a deal that would have gotten them more money but less control. (They do have a deal now with Microsoft that lets them retain ownership and control, which has been really great for the show.) Plus, I met her at Fan Expo this year and she was so nice. It made me like her all the more.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of my system, here’s the reason why The Guild is showing up on a book blog. The series has become increasingly popular and has, as a result, gotten a better budget. For their third season, the show did a music video called Do You Wanna Date My Avatar, which is hilarious. For  Season 4, they have a Bollywood-themed video that has Felicia Day’s character, Codex, reading Lisa Shearin’s Bewitched & Betrayed (which I incidentally just reviewed).

Without further ado, here is Game On:

Please, please, please watch The Guild. It’s so much fun, even if you’re not a gamer.

Tags: , ,

One response to “The Guild and Lisa Shearin”

  1. Cat says :

    I loooooove The Guild! Just realized that today’s Wednesday! So I missed it yesterday. Long weekend messed up my internal calendar. 😉

Leave a Reply

