Spy Glass (Glass #3) by Maria V. Snyder

Released: September 1, 2010
Format: e-book
Pages: 425
Publisher: Mira
ISBN-13: 978-0-7783-2847-6

I feel very fortunate right now, as I got an early copy of Spy Glass from Harlequin. It’s the third (and, I think, final) installment in Maria V. Snyder‘s stories about Opal Cowan, glass magician.

In Spy Glass, Opal is reeling. She’s trying to come to terms with her sacrifice but longs to regain her magic. And despite the fallout in Storm Glass, she’s still keeping secrets from the Council. Basically, Opal’s a hot mess, trying to figure out what to do with herself.

When presented with her options, Opal decides to see if there’s a way for her to regain her magic and ends up back in Fulgor, working as an assistant to Councilor Moon as she tries to figure out if her desires are possible. Along the way, she’s forced to confront her feelings for Devlin and deal with the fallout of her decisions.

I really enjoyed Spy Glass. The Study series is still my favourite but Maria V. Snyder has done a wonderful job with Opal, who really comes into her own over the course of the trilogy. By the end of this story, Opal knows how she is and what she wants and I’m very satisfied with where she ends up. I wasn’t sure that I would be since she’s gone through so much but I was quite happy with how Spy Glass ends. Plus, it was great to see Valek show up again, in a more substantial role, since I’ve been missing him. I won’t say too much more about who shows up or what goes on since it’s a new release but it’s safe to say you won’t be disappointed with where Opal and her friends end up.

I really, really hope that the author keeps writing in this world since I think there are so many more stories to tell in Sitia and Ixia, and I’m not ready to say goodbye to the world or the wonderful characters she has created.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

